We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Four Points with Ocean-facing bonus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ft. Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Standard Four Points with Ocean-facing bonus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Four Points isn't luxury, but for the price this property did a great job. I stayed for business but didn't use the business center, so I can't comment on its value. The room was clean, noise wasn't a factor, and the front desk staff were very courteous. For those wanting to visit Pleasure Pier or the beach, you are literally across the street from both, and there are quite a few options for food nearby. Breakfast in the hotel's dining room was decent - might want to spend your money elsewhere for something a bit more unique - but it did the trick to fill me up.

Room Tip: King rooms really do a lot to help - larger space was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and your business. Location is very important, but we try to keep things simple and comfortable. We are currently reviewing our breakfast menu and will be making some changes. Thank you and hope to see you on your next visit to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    55
    21
    18
See reviews for
100
72
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Four Points in November, 2012. We had alot of problems with our stay. I wrote a review and the new manager wrote to my husband and I. He said that they had new management and would we give them another chance. We really loved the location, so we decided to give them another chance. Our stay in April, 2013 was completely different. The manager, Gilbert Mora, made sure our stay was perfect. He made sure we had everything we requested. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are glad that we gave them another chance.

Room Tip: Stay in the Junior Suite. It is a large room and has an ocean view with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you. We are always trying to improve and make this property better. We know we still have areas of improvement, but any business does. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I were planning an overnight trip to Galveston and after reading some of the reviews about this hotel I was a bit skeptical. However, we are Starwood members and wanted to stay at one of their properties. We had an excellent experience from beginning to end. Because we are platinum level we were upgraded to a suite, which is normally the case if it is available. Our room was very clean, had great amenities (microwave, fridge, dispensers in shower, etc.), the bed and pillows were more than adequate and very comfortable. I was able to meet the general manager, Gilbert, who had responded to a lot of the reviews. He addressed some of the concerns I had read about and is working diligently to correct any problems he might have inherited when taking the position at Four Points.
Remember, this is a FOUR POINTS, not a W and also a beach hotel. The prices are extrememly reasonable and there is a lot of family traffic. We will definitely stay at this hotel in the near future. Thanks Gilbert for caring and doing such a great job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I originally wanted to rent a private place from the homeaway website but my husband made arrangements on his office computer because he thought he found a deal to good to pass up; $500 for 3 nights with an ocean view. The staff was friendly when we arrived which was a relief because I read horror reviews online. The room was decent but not immaculately clean like hotel rooms should be; the bed was oddly wrinkled but due to a sloppy housekeeper and the walls were dirty in many spots. The ocean view was very nice but the MAJOR disappointment was that the patio doors were so dirty. When the patio doors were shut I couldnt see the "view". We were on a staycation from Katy, Tx and my husband loves the Galveston area, so I was determined to enjoy our trip with little complaint...however the hotel made a mistake and put a $2000 hold on our $500 reservation. While we were away from home our staycation we were denied a good chunk of our bank account. It was very difficult to reach a manager to fix it and as of April 8th there was a $900 hold on our bank account from our trip on March 28th. The manager did discount our $500 bill down to $400. I would have possibly valued the hotel on an average rating if they had valued charging us correctly. Please be cautious how this hotel charges you! Please read other reviews where guests complain about overcharges, too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I want to thank you for your review. As you know we need this information to help us improve. I do apologize for the dirty outside patio glass doors. We really try to keep those clean, but facing the ocean with the salt air gets them dirty quickly. I have shared the over authorizations on credit cards with the front office team. I will also share with Housekeeping the bed and walls issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was clean and room spacious but just a moderate place. The area was easy walking to area restaurants and right across the street from beach. The Galveston beach was loaded with sea weed that they drag up the beach and bury - the problem is when the sun is toasting, so is the seaweed so it does smell when walking on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments on the hotel. I will share with the City of Galveston your feedback on the seaweed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Its ideally located next door to the new Galveston pier amusement park. Seems New and very clean. Breakfast was a bit simple - Could have added more Breakfast options considering the room price is above average. Saying that; the eating, seating area etc was comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Not rooms you could spend an afternoon in which your family. Pool is tiny. Kind of seems pointless that they even added it! Beach across the road is one of the nicer ones we've visited in Galveston. And we are regulars come the summer months. Over all; its not bad at all. Id stay again - Maybe. Plenty of room for improvements!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We like to keep things simple, but are planning a menu change. I wish I could make rooms bigger, however most people tend to be outside on the beach. The pool area is compatiable with the number of rooms we have. We will also start poolside service as well. That will be fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are used to full service hotels like Hilton and Sheraton, Westin etc it would be better to downscale expectations.

Now on to my review. The decor is updated with new carpets, thermostat controlled wall mounted ac units, decent workout facility along with a good lobby and fresh exteriors as well. Parking is free and plenty, right across from the pleasure pier at junction of 25& Seawall. Cross the street and you are at the beach, that simple.

The rooms are functional with coffee maker, plenty of power points, the showers have a cool 'gel station' so no small bottles for soaps, conditioners, shampoos etc. We had a suite so that came with a fridge as well.

There is a bar right at the lobby and breakfast served there as well. Again. Inexpensive and functional restaurant. Service depends on your waiter& they were struggling on Easter Sunday, it literally took us an hour for breakfast.

In a nutshell, a good place to stay if you get in, sleep and spend most of your time on the beach or sightseeing. Location is the key!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Great review! You are right on with the description of the hotel. As far as breakfast we had 5 new international students who were in there second week of training in the Oasis and have improved dramatically. We know we had some challenges when they started over Spring Break and have picked up very quickly. We have improved, but also always look for getting better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston
Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Galveston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.