We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Bad experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location. Bad experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I originally wanted to rent a private place from the homeaway website but my husband made arrangements on his office computer because he thought he found a deal to good to pass up; $500 for 3 nights with an ocean view. The staff was friendly when we arrived which was a relief because I read horror reviews online. The room was decent but not immaculately clean like hotel rooms should be; the bed was oddly wrinkled but due to a sloppy housekeeper and the walls were dirty in many spots. The ocean view was very nice but the MAJOR disappointment was that the patio doors were so dirty. When the patio doors were shut I couldnt see the "view". We were on a staycation from Katy, Tx and my husband loves the Galveston area, so I was determined to enjoy our trip with little complaint...however the hotel made a mistake and put a $2000 hold on our $500 reservation. While we were away from home our staycation we were denied a good chunk of our bank account. It was very difficult to reach a manager to fix it and as of April 8th there was a $900 hold on our bank account from our trip on March 28th. The manager did discount our $500 bill down to $400. I would have possibly valued the hotel on an average rating if they had valued charging us correctly. Please be cautious how this hotel charges you! Please read other reviews where guests complain about overcharges, too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I want to thank you for your review. As you know we need this information to help us improve. I do apologize for the dirty outside patio glass doors. We really try to keep those clean, but facing the ocean with the salt air gets them dirty quickly. I have shared the over authorizations on credit cards with the front office team. I will also share with Housekeeping the bed and walls issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    56
    25
    22
See reviews for
115
74
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was clean and room spacious but just a moderate place. The area was easy walking to area restaurants and right across the street from beach. The Galveston beach was loaded with sea weed that they drag up the beach and bury - the problem is when the sun is toasting, so is the seaweed so it does smell when walking on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments on the hotel. I will share with the City of Galveston your feedback on the seaweed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Its ideally located next door to the new Galveston pier amusement park. Seems New and very clean. Breakfast was a bit simple - Could have added more Breakfast options considering the room price is above average. Saying that; the eating, seating area etc was comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Not rooms you could spend an afternoon in which your family. Pool is tiny. Kind of seems pointless that they even added it! Beach across the road is one of the nicer ones we've visited in Galveston. And we are regulars come the summer months. Over all; its not bad at all. Id stay again - Maybe. Plenty of room for improvements!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We like to keep things simple, but are planning a menu change. I wish I could make rooms bigger, however most people tend to be outside on the beach. The pool area is compatiable with the number of rooms we have. We will also start poolside service as well. That will be fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are used to full service hotels like Hilton and Sheraton, Westin etc it would be better to downscale expectations.

Now on to my review. The decor is updated with new carpets, thermostat controlled wall mounted ac units, decent workout facility along with a good lobby and fresh exteriors as well. Parking is free and plenty, right across from the pleasure pier at junction of 25& Seawall. Cross the street and you are at the beach, that simple.

The rooms are functional with coffee maker, plenty of power points, the showers have a cool 'gel station' so no small bottles for soaps, conditioners, shampoos etc. We had a suite so that came with a fridge as well.

There is a bar right at the lobby and breakfast served there as well. Again. Inexpensive and functional restaurant. Service depends on your waiter& they were struggling on Easter Sunday, it literally took us an hour for breakfast.

In a nutshell, a good place to stay if you get in, sleep and spend most of your time on the beach or sightseeing. Location is the key!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Great review! You are right on with the description of the hotel. As far as breakfast we had 5 new international students who were in there second week of training in the Oasis and have improved dramatically. We know we had some challenges when they started over Spring Break and have picked up very quickly. We have improved, but also always look for getting better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel could be very nice if management took interest. Was not filthy but could be a lot cleaner. Also the wi fi was down and the people kept saying was being worked on but was never fixed. Better have breakfast before 09:00 AM as they shut it down. Many things in hotel does not work and needs lots of maintenance. Staff was friendly and wanted to help. Location needs good cleaning and maintenance on items and could be
A good place to stay. Might need to rethink a 09:00 AM breakfast for a resort location.

Room Tip: only rooms with view are the end rooms with balconys. Hotel could be very nice if management took i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This Hotel is across the street from the Beach. There are a lot of hotels across the street from the Beach, but this on is on the corner. That means that there is a light to stop the traffic. I will not cross 5 lanes of traffic with kids.

The WiFi at the hotel did not work. There were 10 access points, but they kicked me off after a few mins.

Room Tip: Get a Beach View higher than the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel stay was basically fine, but not what I would have expected from this hotel brand. It was spring break and the hotel was very crowded and noisy. We were originally put in a room right near the reception desk and near the elevator. There are four rooms along this corridor and it is unfair to put anyone in these rooms. It is a major thoroughfare and people aren't quiet because no one would expect that guest rooms would be put there. We asked to change and were told the hotel was booked. The next day we were switched and the new room on a higher floor was better. It is a narrow building and everything felt a bit squishy. An example of this is that once the bathroom door was opened, you couldn't walk around it. Bed was very comfortable. Also there was no real good place to hang out, as the lobby couches are right between the entrance and the reception desk.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Galveston
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Galveston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.