We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Glaveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Galveston to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay in Glaveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Two nights here prior to cruise departure. Hefty walk (15-20 minutes) to get to The Strand/downtown but across the street from beach and Pleasure Pier.
Room layout was great...plenty of space for our 7 suitcases and four people. Nice bed...a bit on the hard side. As for the AC unit...just run the fan all night and you get a white noise.
Pool is not heated. So if you come in January be prepared for that.
Overall pleased with service at front desk, cleanliness and comfort of room, and price at $109 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    96
    65
    27
    23
See reviews for
127
85
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived for a two day pre-cruise stay. The check-in was easy, and although we had lots of luggage, no assistance was offered. Our room was fine, it overlooked the Gulf. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was adequate but our waiter was efficient and friendly. In fact, he chased down a receptionist so we could buy bottles of soda as no one was around the desk. Location is great as we were walking distance to many places. On our second day, in fact, we did a lot of walking around the island. We left the hotel before 10:00AM and arrived back about 2:00PM. Our room had not been cleaned, which we found puzzling. After waiting for an hour for housekeeping to knock to clean our room, we finally put out the "Do Not Disturb" as my friend needed a nap. Very disappointing . . . Upon check out the next day, we mentioned the lack of cleaning. The clerk said she would report it . . . no apology at all!!! This completely puts me off this hotel. Lovely facility, but lacking in staff training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Our housekeeping department is on duty from 9am to 6pm. They are assigned rooms that have to be completed throughout the day. They may have not been to your room yet, however are going to. If service is need by a certain time please contact front desk and we would have addressed your room asap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We do a lot of traveling. Our getaways are carefully planned and can be anywhere in the US or Europe.My husband knew he had selected one of the best locations in Galveston here at the Seawall. We expected to have a great stay. As we arrived on a cold afternoon in January, we naturally turned on the heater unit.We could not hear our own voices over the noise. And then after a full day, we returned to our room, the roar of this machine made it impossible to sleep! How can management not know of this problem? Peace and quiet is the first comfort one expects when spending this amount of money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Appreciate the feedback because we actually had another heater that did not work. Since then, my maintinence crew has been into every single room to test the heaters. Because of your experience we found 3 others that did not work. We have ordered additional heating elements to make sure we get through this cold spell. Thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location, right on the Seawall, right across from the newly rebuilt Pleasure Pier. However, the air conditioner in our room was so incredibly loud that it actually kept me awake most of the night (and I'm a very heavy sleeper). The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Did NOT have a good night.
On the plus side, we got a great price, had a semi-ocean view room, it was very clean, and we only had to endure one night. Overall an ok place to stay (if the room was better), prior to leaving for a cruise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are still working on all HVAC units. We are installating rubber mounts under the motors to help with the vibrations, rinsing out the entire unit, and adjusting settings. This has been working and I am sorry we had not finish all rooms. As far as the bed is concerned we will look into the condition of the bed mattress. I believe they are only 2 1/2 years old. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had booked this hotel last July for a pre-cruise night in late December, Upon arriving at the hotel after a long day of travel, they did not have my reservation, even though I had a printed out confirmation.. No apology or we will sort this out was offered, just confusion about what to do. They were able to give us a room, right on the elevators. We asked to be moved and were moved up to the second floor of the second building. No wi-fi and no one was helpful at all. We asked at the time of check in for a taxi to be called for 10:30 am for 6 people. I checked back in after our walk 3 hours later and it had not been done. Again just a stone faced look at receptiuon. The room was clean and quiet. The next morining was horrible. We had prepaid our breakfast $25.00. First if we ordered what we could get with our voucher, it would cost us $16.00. Then there was no service, 2 new, overwhelmed staff memebers trying hard. They pulled a girl of the front desk but it did not help. 45 minute wait for our simple order, had to get our own drinks, orders mixed up, my daughter had ordered a cinnoman roll, was told 45 minutes later they did not have and brought her muffins. 5 minutes later another person walked out with a cinnamon roll. Confusion.....everyone in the restaurant was very displeased. If something close had been oipen we would have gone there.
This might have beena comedy of errors, things happen when you travel but it was the front desk staff who we felt were not friendly in their approach nor did they look for ways to solve problems. That is critical in the front line of those meeting and assisting travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am so sorry that we failed in our responsilbilies to provide you an excellent stay. We should had done a better job at reviewing all reservations from all sources to ensure we had it in the system. We are reconfiguring the internet router in that building to get a more consistant signal. It appears from your restuarant experience that we were understaffed and did not do very well. We have made alot of positive changes in this facility, but still have to improve and get consisitant. Our team thanks you for the information for us to improve. Please contact me at the hotel when you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Looks like new management has turned this place around. We had no complaints at all. Friendly check in staff, who made NO mention of the fact we bought on Priceline, and even put us in an ocean view room on the top floor, which I certainly did not expect given what we paid. Room very clean, nice artwork, modern furniture, very comfy bed with quality linens and fluffy down comforter, and awesome, high-pressure shower! Hotel decor very modern, with attractive looking bar and lobby area. Mentioned a slow-draining bathroom sink to housekeeping staff I ran into in the hall on the way out for the day and she said she would have it looked at.
Suggest hotel update their amenities on the website. I had looked to see if there was a mini fridge and it wasn't listed, so we brought a cooler, only to find a minifridge in the room.
We had view of pool below our room (509) and view of gulf, albeit with a view of Murdochs gift shop as well. Like I said, very unexpected surprise, just wished I could open the window to hear the ocean. Pool area looks nice, but we forgot to bring suits so didn't use.
Highly recommend Cajun Greek and Shrimp & Stuff for local seafood.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you. It does not matter how you book our hotel we will treat everyone with the best service we can provide. We thank you for your business as tell all your friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is a fine hotel. It's clean, the service at the front desk was very helpful, and it's located in a part of town that's perfect for families and/or folks who are embarking on/returning from a Cruise. It's literally right across the street from the newly-opened Pleasure Pier which is a big family attraction. While it's on the ocean, be aware that there's no real beach across the street, and there isn't any nightlife within walking distance. In fact everything around it closes pretty early. But I knew that going in, and we stayed because it was one of the last rooms on the island so I'm probably not the target demographic. But we had fun, and it was a positive experience, and I'd gladly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert M, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will definitely pass on your remarks to are staff. They appeciate both the good and the bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Galveston

Address: 2300 Seawall Blvd, I-45 South Between 23 & 24 Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galveston
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Galveston 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, Four Points by Sheraton Galveston is near the beach and Pleasure Pier, Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Strand Historic District, and Grand 1894 Opera House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston Hotel Galveston
4 Points By Sheraton Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.