We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    649
    315
    143
    85
See reviews for
710
926
53
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were looking forward to a great mom’s getaway weekend. We booked a room for about $450 a night. Although this hotel is beautiful, with great landscaping and wonderful pool area we experienced bad customer service from the beginning. At check-in we asked for a different room as our view consisted of a bad part of Galveston neighborhood and there was actually a police car outside the whole time. We were told that if we wanted any other room we would be charged an additional $50. Finally we talked to a manager who agreed to move us at no additional charge but we would have to wait for the new room to be ready. This was ok with us but when we returned about two hours later, our luggage was no where to be found. We then spotted it outside in the sun and had to alert the staff to move it to our room. Also, when we entered the new room we noticed a champagne bottle had been brought to our room and we thought how wonderful that the hotel apologized with this gesture. We found out later that the bottle had been sent by one of our husbands and someone in the hotel forgot to include that note. Later that day, we strolled to the gift shop in the hotel and upon entering the sales lady asked us if we were going to buy anything because she was on her way out for break. We walked out. We then went to the pool area and bought drinks. By the time we got back to our drinks, they had been picked up. The last straw was the next morning in the hotel lobby when we, along with other customers asked if there was any complimentary coffee. The bar person brought back 3 coffees and a receipt for $12. After checking with other employees of the kitchen, it was determined that the complimentary coffee pot was not put out that day for whatever reason. By this time, the manager was called out by the employees to check if anything could be done and we were told by the manager, in front of other customers that if we wanted complimentary coffee we should have stayed at Super 8. We would hope that Super 8’s customer service was not as lacking as it is also owned by the Wyndham Group.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the issues that you mentioned during your stay. It does appear that you booked a city view room versus a Gulf view room which would explain the rate increase but we are glad that a manager was able to make that room change. And, we appreciate you bringing the other service issues to our attention. We hope that you might consider giving us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel itself was gorgeous. We did have a few issues during our stay however. We placed our room serivce order on Friday night for Saturday morning. We never received the breakfast and could not get ahold of anyone at food services to assist. The hotel did comp us $50, but for as much money as we paid to stay there, we anticipated better service. Also, the bathroom sink did not drain properly so there was constant water sitting there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate you sharing the good and the bad regarding your stay at the hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the issues that you experienced. We hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Yes this is an old hotel that has gone thru some renovations since I was last here 4 yrs ago. Yes the elevators are old and slow. Yes the King room is smallish. But the charm and friendliness of the staff are worth everything. We just returned from a very crowded Easter weekend crowd in Galveston and the Galvez was a slice of heaven. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful from the manager down thru the bartenders and valet guys. Enjoy the charm of the staff and hotel and forget a few small annoyances and you will see why we will always stay at the Galvez when in Galveston.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are so pleased that you "still love the Galvez." Thank you for the compliments to our staff. We agree that we have a really wonderful staff at the hotel. We hope that you had the opportunity to tour our Hall of History. Please note that we know offer a free audio tour App for Smartphones. Search your Smartphone for "Hotel Galvez" and download the free history and ghost tours. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely hotel in a very good location. Room was small but well equipped and the property overall is great. The pool area is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for describing Hotel Galvez as a "lovely hotel." We are so pleased you that you enjoyed your stay as well as the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Amex, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.