We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was small but adequate. The lighting was not...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galveston
1 review
“Our room was small but adequate. The lighting was not...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our room was small but adequate. The lighting was not good, but we did get a larger bulb for the reading lamp. Breakfast was nicely prepared and delicious.

Would have appreciated free coffee in the lobby as that is the Best Place to sit and visit...was suggested I bring it from my room...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Galvez. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed the hotel. While we don't offer courtesy coffee, we do offer courtesy infused water in the lobby in the afternoons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    649
    315
    143
    85
See reviews for
710
926
53
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed in room #505 for a GNO with best friends on March 7th, room was requested because it's often referred to as the haunted room. I was reluctant but my friends were not. I found the room to be clean and comfortable. The outside pool and hot tub were beautiful and I had one of the best nights of my life at this beautiful hotel. The only thing that happened was we received a random phone call from the front desk to check on us. We all got a laugh. Never had a front desk call before to see how I'm doing. I would definitely recommend this hotel. As far as it being haunted you will be disappointed. There wasn't even a slight hint of a ghost.

Room Tip: 5th floor could be haunted but that wasn't my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Galvez for your girls night out. We are so pleased that you had one of the best nights of your life. You may be interested in downloading our free tour app. We offer a free ghost tour app which is available for smartphones. Just search your app store for Hotel Galvez and download. You and your girlfriends will have a great remembrance of the trip. We hope that you and your girlfriends will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was a guest in the hotel for Mardi Gras, we had a minority in our group who was treated poorly, threatened by police and management. He did nothing wrong he was merely in the company of a guest who played the guitar, they said they had complaints that it interfered with the Muzak. It wasn't closing time and it was Mardi Gras weekend. We all viewed it as discriminatory and rude. It ruined an otherwise wonderful weekend. Thank Heavens we were entertained outside the hotel experience. It was pretty horrible.

Room Tip: I loved our room with the ocean view. The pool is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel during your Mardi Gras krewe's festivities in The Strand District. As you are probably aware, your krewe had access to the entire seventh floor which includes a billiard area and VIP lounge. According to staff, at the time when the group ventured to the bar with a guitarist playing, it was approaching time for the bar to close and we were serving other guests. It was reported that the impromptu guitar playing was disruptive and we received complaints from other guests. The policy of the hotel is that guests are allowed in the lobby as long as they are respectful of other guests. The seventh floor VIP area would have been a more appropriate venue for this gathering. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Food great. Bed not comfortable at all. A/c, heat unit unsatisfactory, could not control the temp and it had a constant noise. The staff was nice but I wish they would have put us in another room with better bed and air unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned in your review. At times, the desk is able to move guests to another room but, we're assuming that in your case, the hotel was sold out. We hope that you will give us another try soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff were very friendly, the room was small even considering that Galvez is an old historic hotel. The bathroom is very small, not a Wyndham standard.
Valet crew left my car running for 10 minutes without any car ahead until I got back and turned off myself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at the hotel. We appreciate you sharing the issues that you mentioned. While we can't alter the room size, please know that you can always request a corner room or get a recommendation on which rooms are larger. We will share your comments with our valet company as well. We hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Amex, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.