We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 33rd honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Pearland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 33rd honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Galvez was quite a fantastic experience. The ambience and tranqulity of the hotel compounded with a very friendly and caring staff added to the joy of our stay as we celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary. We are looking forward to our future stay as Hotel Galvez, definitely it will be much sooner than our next wedding anniversary. Without a doubt, one of the world's finest!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Congratulations on 33 years. Next time, you may want to join us for our Wedding Vow Renewal in June. It's an annual event and we know that you would enjoy it. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    930
    546
    271
    121
    72
See reviews for
629
745
44
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Highly recommend Hotel Galvez & Spa.

Pros: Spa was incredible (recommend Michelle & Pauline), great location on the seawall near the new Pleasure Pier, swim up bar was great, free hotel rental bicycles which we used a couple of times, historic hotel charm, great staff

Cons: Construction in the lobby (May 2013) meant there was a temporary bar in a conference room, food at the pool was sub-par, weekends at the pool can be extremely crowded but Friday and Monday were great, small room but with a great ocean view (for a historic hotel we expected the room to be small)

This was the first time for my wife and I to stay at this property and we'll be back. We've stayed in Galveston at the San Luis and Tremont House which are both excellent hotels but we like the charm/location of Hotel Galvez.

Room Tip: Ask for a high, ocean view floor. The front desk is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your compliments to our staff at the spa and front desk. We are pleased to share that the renovation is complete and we have now opened our new Galvez Bar & Grill. We know that you'll love the new look and menu. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a really nice experience. It was elegant, relaxing, and my four year old granddaughter loved her first trip to the beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased that you and your four-year-old granddaughter enjoyed the trip to the beach. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Paid for a suite. Dirty carpets, only one sink in the bathroom, shower in the bath and you had to be a midget to use it. Several TV channels not working, windows fogged up/dirty so no good view of ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on your stay. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the hotel but we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.