We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    829
    479
    241
    111
    63
See reviews for
572
658
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salado, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I didn't want to leave. My husband had to drag me out of the Hotel Galvez while I cried and cried. I wanted to rent a room and live there for the rest of my life. The bed was a heavenly cloud that cradled my body with love, the scenic views caressed my eyes and made me feel so serene, and everyone smiled. A lot. I like smiling people; they're wonderful. I want to work there so I can just be close to the Hotel Galvez at all times. I dream about this place, I love it! Didn't try the spa, so that's NEXT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Wow, thanks for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Looks like you'll be coming back to try our spa. We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Galvez many times in my life through bad and good times. I am so thankful to see it the wonderful restoration. Check out one of the bikes there for guest and take a ride down the seawall or walk to many of the local attractions. If you want to explore the island, ask the valet's their recommendations. They have never given me bad advice and on this trip provided 2 of my new favorite restaurants on the island!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on the Hotel Galvez. We are happy to read that you like our renovation and our complimentary bikes. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Perfect getaway close to home. I enjoyed the atmosphere of this historic hotel and the accessibility to the activities on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the positive review on your stay at Hotel Galvez. We hope that you'll plan another Girls Getaway soon. Remember that we have a phenomenal spa, complimentary bicycles and champagne brunch too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Hotel Galvez
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list