We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We planned our stay at Hotel Galvez as a short 3 day get away and ended up staying 5 days! From the moment we turned into the drive we entered another world. Every single staff member treated us like VIPs, and the attention to detail throughout the hotel made us feel like we were at a luxury resort. After walking through the front door, opened by a smiling doorman, we paused for a complementary glass of cucumber or lemon infused ice water. The front desk staff checked us in and gave us some great tips on things to do and made sure we were aware of all the amenities including the bicycles out front that we could use during our stay.

The hotel was opened in 1911 and the décor reflects that without looking stale or overdone. The just renovated lobby bar and restaurant are gorgeous and inviting. The entire ground floor and outside has many areas to just relax or read without having to sit at a bar or by a pool. The side verandas with their comfy rattan chairs are wonderful, there are sofas and chairs outside in shady nooks, and even chairs set out in front for watching the sunrise.
Our room was beautifully appointed with soothing neutral colors and all the conveniences of a 5 star hotel. We really didn’t spend that much time there, too many other great spots to hang out!
We went down to the pool and were greeted by more friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. The pool is salt water so no chlorine fumes and the landscaping is out of Architectural Digest. One day we ate lunch by the pool in our lounge chairs. There is also an area with tables and chairs or couches. The swim up bar even makes all their cocktails by hand at the same cost you’ll pay down the street for a bad premixed.

In addition to the ocean, the hotel is surrounded by great restaurants and family activities - all within walking or biking distance so it's super convenient to everything. The hotel also provides free gated key access self parking next door.

I don’t know what was better, the hotel or the service. Every single interaction with the staff was perfect. Every inch of the hotel is beautiful. It’s a wonderful place for a family vacation or a romantic getaway. 5 out of 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and decided to extend your visit. We look forward to your next stay with us. Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    538
    265
    120
    69
See reviews for
620
736
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

For the price i payed for the "spa" room (almost 300) i expected much more. The room was very tiny and plain. The bathroom however was lovely. I couldn't see the gulf out of my window because of the dirtiness of it. The pool was.nice and heated however terriblly slow service on a slow day. The next morning we headed down to bernardos resturant (i beleive its called) for breakfast, which is said to be amazing. My breakfast was horrible, didnt eat it but payed 50 dollars for my meal and didn't complain. Overall stay was ok but next time i think ill stay at the San Luis. the galvez was not worth the price for the service or the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for you feedback on your stay. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please know that we use this feedback from our guests to continually improve our service. You may also want to consider giving our sister hotel - The Tremont House a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is great. The entry, lobby and common areas are beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was a disappointment. Reservations offered rooms with a partial view or full gulf view. I took the bait and booked the gulf view thinking it would be relaxing and special with a dramatic view of the gulf. Instead, it was a very expensive rip off. The room had a small window that was so dirty I could hardly see out. I had to squeeze in over the window framing to look out. Even if the window had been clean, we were unable to see out from the bed or any seating area. I understand the hotel is beside the water where windows may not always be spanking clean, but it was notches below that-- inside and out. The adjacent wing butted up against our room which gave us an inside corner with a partial and obstructed view. Not the gulf view I paid for! The bed looked so inviting but the horrible mattress was worn out and we woke up with aching backs. We prepaid and booked 2 nights on a non-refundable rate so the bad experience continued. The walls were not insulated and the kids next door ran wild until midnight. Don't stay here if you are expecting a really nice and luxurious experience equivalent to their prices. Just drop by and stroll through the lobby to see the beauty of this historic place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel. Some historic hotels have some challenges in regard to room size and location but we feel that we make up for that with our lobby, restaurant, pool and spa. Please note that Gulf facing rooms located in the middle of the hotel and our sixth floor rooms have an obstructed view of the Gulf. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I attended a small conference at the Galvez last week. The hotel looks great. The employees are always very accomodating. I love the updates to the bar. This hotel just has a very stately feeling. Thee pool is beautiful and relaxing. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for great review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay during your recent conference. And we are excited to know that you'll be returning on a family trip. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.