We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Momus Mardi Gras weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    902
    525
    258
    121
    70
See reviews for
610
720
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were great, beds comfy, food ordered from the room service was good and so was the breakfast. The staff was friendly too. The rooms are very tastefully furbished. Absolutely nothing to complain about, our stay was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate your insight and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was beautiful! I have stayed at many hotels in my travels but this hotel was unexpected. I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was comfortable and we had an excellent view from our window. We went on the "ghost tour" of the hotel and that was fun, you learn about the history of the hotel and Galveston. The pool area is stunning! I would definitely stay at Hotel Galvez again if my travels ever bring me back to this area in Texas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank for sharing your positive experience at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our ghost tour and that you were "pleasantly surprised" with the hotel. By the way, Hotel Galvez offers public ghost tours paired with dinner during the month of October so we're glad you got a preview. We hope that you make your way to Galveston again and stay with us. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent a few days in Galveston, and booked well in advance to get a good rate. We chose the Hotel Galvez & Spa to taste a bit of beachside luxury before heading back home to Scandinavia. Our expectations were high, and we were not let down. The building and its surroundings exude a Raffles-style ambience, and the central location was perfect for experiencing Galveston and surroundings.

Smallish but well-appointed room with a comfortable bed. Tasteful pool area. Convenient secured complimentary parking in adjacent building. Fast wi-fi. Great service.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us before returning home to Scandivania. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope you choose Galveston again during a future visit to the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but this is a beautiful hotel. I had a room with a king bed on the fifth floor that had a view of the Gulf. Price $150 for the night. The bar staff in the lobby was friendly. I especially liked it that they had Hendricks Gin. I ate a snack in the late afternoon of empanadas, then later had a Cuban sandwich with slaw. All were excellent and I chose to eat at the bar. I checked out the pool that was located in a lovely setting. I self-parked my car in the secure garage across the street. The hotel is across the street from the promenade that fronts the Gulf. I walked 2.5 miles in one direction and turned back to the hotel. This is a great location. The amusement park is close to the hotel and there are many restaurants within walking distance. My husband wasn't with me on this trip, so I am sure we will be making a second trip down to visit this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed a cocktail and dining in our bar. It was also good to read that you enjoyed a nice walk on the Seawall. Just a bit of trivia: Galveston's Seawall is the longest, continuous sidewalk in the U.S. We also wanted to let you know that we are planning to expand the bar and renovate the lobby and restaurant this spring and we know that you and your husband will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

There is a lot of history with this hotel. A mandatory visit to the hotel's museum is required. When you arrive the front doors are opened for you but be sure to ask for Mr. Bob and have him take you for a tour of their museum. He has been with the hotel for 30+ years and loves to add his experiences to the tour. (Tour is free but he appreciates tips but not required). The front desk personnel are very friendly and help with whatever requests given to them. The only reason I give 4 stars is because the room we stayed in had a very noticeably dirty wall and the carpet was noticeably stained.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view. Beautiful views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. You mentioned Mr. Bob - that's our Guest Ambassador Bobby Hilton. As you mentioned, he is available for quick tours of our Hall of History which is located on the lower level of the hotel. We are lucky to have him and will be sure to mention your compliments to him. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.