We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay before cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
ROWLETT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay before cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my 2nd time for this hotel. Not sure of a 3rd as I was really disappointed when trying to make spa appt and told the next available was 9:00am and when I called back was informed the spa decided to close on Monday due to slow business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. I'm sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced regarding the spa. We will make sure that the spa staff is aware. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    589
    288
    131
    72
See reviews for
655
811
47
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we stayed at the Galvez for 3 nights after Christmas. Without exception the service was excellent from all of the staff. The breakfast buffet was also outstanding. The first night our room was incredibly small. I believe it was 241. It was the only room available. It was seriously too small for two people. At least it had a refrigerator. After much scmoozing, I was able to get us moved to a bigger room for our next nights. It was more like suite. Not really fair to charge the same for two significantly different rooms. Very nice furnishings in both though. What they told me was that the rooms farther out from the middle tended to be smaller, and the middle ones (near the elevator) are bigger. we had to put a towel under the door as the conversations on the other side of the partition door were very audible. I feel that for the money, there are better places to stay in Galveston.
OH, and the water pipes run through the walls by 241. By early morning, when people are taking showers, its like being next to a white water river. My wife said she tried to pretend it was raining, and i tried to pretend it was a stream, but really it was just loud running water.

Room Tip: rooms near 30 are near the elevator, and are larger. even numbers face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay. While the hotel now has 224 rooms, if you can imagine when it opened in 1911 it housed 275 rooms. But as you know, certain things like in-room bathrooms are a necessity in this modern age which explains the variation in room size at our historic hotel. We hope that you will give us another try during a future visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were welcomed as we travelled into town in our rental car from Houston by the super helpful and courteous valet staff. Upon knowing that we would be leaving on the cruise the next day, they booked us a hotel shuttle time to the port terminal, and let us know that a $17 valet charge would park our rental car for the entire trip! We were thrilled, having thought that we would pay $50 to park it at the terminal. The hotel was festive for the holidays which included a giant gingerbread of the cruise terminal in the lobby. We checked into our room, which was updated and comfy with all the needed amenities, and a fabulous view of the colorfully lit pier amusement park. We gave ourselves a self-guided tour of the hotel, and pleasantly found a fabulous display of the "history" behind the hotel. Our kids ordered room service (the prices were amazing! The lowest I've ever seen) while we kicked our vacation with a drink in the lobby bar. We were thrilled with our stay and wish we would have booked our return stay here rather than the Hilton down the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback on your pre-cruise stay at Hotel Galvez. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. It is also nice to see that you enjoyed our Hall of History. We added that exhibit in January 2011 and it has become quite popular with guests. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at The Galvez through Disney Cruise Line night before cruise. Mom spent time in hair salon with excellent experience. Dad and kids enjoyed coast and local souvenir shop. Courtesy shuttle took us to local store for necessities and staff made recommendation for local seafood at "The Spot" which was "spot-on" (lol). Breakfast buffet was good. Will stay again next time in Galveston!

Room Tip: Room with king bed is smaller than two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Hotel Galvez & Spa. It looks like you really got around to enjoy Galveston as well as the hotel. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal , Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was great we stayed before our cruise and they had everything arranged from our stay at the hotel to our cars that we paid to have valet for the week one cost. The Valet were great treated us and our cars well. The hotel is absoletly gorgeous. The rooms are small but very nice all hotel staff makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Galvez for your pre-cruise stay. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.