We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Liberal , Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Vacation Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was great we stayed before our cruise and they had everything arranged from our stay at the hotel to our cars that we paid to have valet for the week one cost. The Valet were great treated us and our cars well. The hotel is absoletly gorgeous. The rooms are small but very nice all hotel staff makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Galvez for your pre-cruise stay. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    915
    537
    265
    121
    70
See reviews for
620
731
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We parked our car here and went on a 7 day cruise. When we came back from our cruise they left approx 30 of us standing in freezing rain for a little over forty minutes. When we asked them why the long wait they said they had to stop and fill the shuttle buses up with fuel. Sounds like a bunch of BS to me.Once we finally got back to the hotel the valet actually had the nerve to stand there scratching their fingers together looking for a tip. I outright laughed at them. I will definitely not be using them again. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. I am very sorry about the issues you had with the shuttle service, please know your comments are important to us and your concerns have been shared with the shuttle management. We hope you will give us another try in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our (family) trip had us stay at "The Galvez", as the locals call it, right after Christmas 2012. The valet staff greeted us and helped a great deal. The temperature was between 35 degrees and 45 degrees F, with a small amount of wind chill factor! So, to see them "brave" the cold was heart-warming. The rooms are old. Still, there was no bad smells, the bathroom vanity was updated, and we had some view of the beach. I had to smile when I saw a couple in their hotel-provided robes returning from the spa. They looked so comfortable and relaxed. Overall, good trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just spent a rainy weekend in Galveston, TX at the Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel. It is indeed a Grand Hotel! The Customer Service was attentive and immediate from the moment we arrived until we were checked out and on our way back home! The room we had was just perfect! The Gulf View was more limited that we expected, but we certainly had a full Gulf View! The beds were like sleeping on clouds...we were very comfortable. The entire facility was very clean. We had breakfast at the hotel one time and dinner there two times. The food was fresh, exquisitely prepared and delightful! We enjoyed a leisurely beverage in the bar area...hats off to Cheryl...she expertly handled a large number of people at the same time and in a timely manner! This Hotel is a number one Class Act all around! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. We are very pleased to read that you were happy with your visit to Hotel Galvez & Spa. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. We will be sure to share your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week during a meeting. The room was not clean - stains on carpet and walls. Housekeeping left dirty glasses and did not resupply toiletries. Food trays were found in the hall almost all the time. During the day, instead of cleaning, the housekeeping staff chatted loudly in the hallway. I was there in the winter, their low seasons; perhaps they were understaffed. It was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on the hotel. These reviews are monitored and shared with the appropriate staff. I'm sorry about the issues with your room and please know that cleanliness is very important to us. We will share your feedback with housekeeping and room service. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.