We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Galvez is, without a doubt, one of the best options for lodging in Galveston.

The hotel has a rich history which give the entire property a lot of character. The lobby and comon areas evoke feelings of grandeur and of an era long gone.

The rooms are fine. Not great, not bad, just fine. The come with the standard amenities one would expect from a 3-4 star hotel.

Is the hotel haunted? That's for you to decide. I've stayed at the Galvez three times and only experienced weird occurrences one of those times. All the lights in my room kept turn on by themselves throughout the night. Was it electrical? Was it something else? One of the coworkers traveling with me did have an encounter that was more supernatural in nature when her bed sheets were pulled in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    589
    289
    131
    72
See reviews for
655
810
47
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ORANGE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We chose to stay at the Galvez for our 34th wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful hotel. Valet was very prompt! I thought the room was very comfortable. The location was a plus also. We didn't have for to drive for any of the attractions we wanted to visit. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great atmosphere and amenities. Good restaurant. Small but comfortable rooms. Super staff. Spa services. Wonderful location. Haven't enjoyed a hotel this much in some time! Lovely in holiday season: Festive but not overdone.

Room Tip: Pay for gulf view if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had planned to stay overnight near Houston, but on impulse after visiting the TravelInformation Centre as we crossed from Louisiana - we detoured to Galveston - via the free ferry on Hwy 87. We showed up at the Hotel Galvez, with no reservation and got a parlour King suite with a sea view. What luxury. A huge bedroom with a large en suite bath,and comfortable sitting room. All decorated in muted relaxing shades. We had room service breakfast which arrived quickly and piping hot. The staff were all courteous and helpful. We decided to stay a second night.
The lobby was bright and spacious withplenty of sitting areas. There were also plenty of loungers by the outside pool. The restaurant menu was varied, the wait staff attentive and the food fresh and flavourful. Note, they charge $6 to "split" any dish - but they are quite happy for you to order a dish with 2 plates and divide the food yourself. That we we shared 2 different appetizers with no extra charge.
The valet parking was optional - it was reasonably priced and quick response times. Of course we were travelling at low season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My S.O.'s family has their annual family gathering in Galveston on the weekend that has Dickens on the Strand, and they always stay here. As my previous post stated, the rooms are small - I mean small - albeit the beds are comfortable. No room for a desk and the bathroom is very tight. I don't think they can do anything unless they knock down walls and lose a lot of rooms. This is the price of using a design from 1911. There are only 2 elevators and they are small. When we arrived on a Friday about 3:30, there was a line of about 20 people plus several porters waiting for elevators, and the stairs only go to the 2nd floor. The bar area is very small for a hotel of this size. The spa is very good and the common areas are large and comfortable.

Overall, if you don't plan on staying in your room except for sleeping, this hotel is OK. So, I would consider it only for trips where you're not planning to work in your room, and you have the patience for waiting to go up and down!

Room Tip: ASK! Find out about the size, amenities, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your stay. You are correct in that there are some limitations to a historic hotel such as room size. If you can imagine, when the hotel opened in 1911, there were 275 rooms and we now have 224. On a busy weekend such as Dickens, we may have some delay at check-in. In the future, we encourage you to explore our Hall of History located on the lower level of the hotel while you wait to check-in. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.