We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as lovely as I remembered...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
College Station, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just as lovely as I remembered...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I took my son for a one-night adventure to Galveston this week. Hotel Galvez was just as lovely as I remembered. I stayed there when I was his age! The service was over the top and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. We enjoyed walking across the street to the beach and then coming back to the hotel to lounge poolside. The hotel was family-friendly, right down to handing out popsicles by the pool. I would definitely stay there again with my entire family- and maybe try to steal a trip with just adults!

Room Tip: If just a party of two- ask for a corner room- two walls of windows makes for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    534
    265
    121
    70
See reviews for
618
729
42
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel galvez, great staff, very family friendly, only complaint was the pool was very cloudy, and dirty, probably from the rain, and staying in the room next to the "haunted" room was a little annoying as there were lots of people running around our room late at night, try to avoid rooms 500-510 to avoid all the crazy people looking for ghosts, otherwise great place and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 500-510
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great place to stay. Right on the beach. 101 years old but have done a super job of restoring it.
Great staff! Rumored to be haunted.......

Room Tip: Ask for gulf side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Service at pool was excellent. Customer service was understanding and helpful when original room did not meet our needs. But, room sizes are very small and the amenities were non-existent for the cost. I've stayed in hotels that cost MUCH LESS and had way nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Sorry you did not enjoy your room more. Hotel Galvez is a AAA rated Four Diamond Hotel so we have to pass very high standards to earn that honor. Yes, some of our rooms are smaller than non-historic hotels but they have all been updated and modernized. Next time try our Premium King rooms - they are our most spacious. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean. It is right on seawall blvd and in a good location with many restaurants nearby.

The room is so tiny that I have not seen any hotel rooms smaller than the hotel Galvez. It could be that os a historic hotel.

However, the design is awesome. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Thanks for appreiating the historic nature of "The Queen of the Gulf". Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

When we visit Galveston, we always stay at the Galvez. The Hotel and the grounds remind us of a bygone era. As mentioned in previous posts, the Hotel is immaculate and beautifully restored. Do not miss Sunday brunch. It is the "event" of the week on the Island. To say it is extravagent is an understatement. What really sets the Hotel apart is the high quality of service everyone at the Hotel offers you. You are always greeted with a smile and they truly extend every kindness to make your stay enjoyable. We had the pleasure of planning our most recent stay with the GM of the Hotel, Mr. Cunningham. Mr. Cunningham is dedicated to providing his guests with memorable stays and was most gracious to us.

If you need a "getaway", this is the Hotel for you.

Room Tip: The eight floor is a private floor with suites that overlook the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My childhood chum met me for a conference and we stayed at this beautifully restored Grand Dame of the Gulf. Our entire experiance was perfect (almost). Check in was quick and easy. Attendants were friendly, helpful, informative. Desk staff were happy to see us. My earlier requests were noted and followed to a tee. Upper floor, room directly across from elevator (no walking), and beautiful, large clean room with a fantastic view of the front lawn, Gulf, full moon over the water, and the fantastic light shows of the new Pleasure pier, WOW! Comfy beds, touch adjustable lighting, plenty of towels and toiletries. Ice machine that never played out. Back downstairs Mr. Bobby at the concierge desk, the resident Keeper of All knowledge, history, culture and ghosts happily escorted us on a passionate tour of the hotels incredible past, personalities (both dead and un-dead) and artifacts. The pool was serene and the grounds were impeccable. The "almost"? The Bar's legendary Brandy Alexander didn't live up to its reputation. It was supposed to be a in a Martini glass lined with chocolate, with a frozen flurry of brandy and liquer and ice cream to send one off to sweet dreams. Ours came bare of any lining, made with cream and ice cubes with a hint of vanilla and just maybe a little brandy. Our thoughts were more like "Weight Watcher milkshake". When queried our lady bartender explained that she did things differently from "the other guy, he's more flashy" Oh well. Everything else was practically perfect in every way, and when we return, we'll bring the right recipe!

Room Tip: 5th floor ocean view across from the elevator. Come on! Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Romantic, Free...
Show More
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Best Value, Bud...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#10 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.