We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as lovely as I remembered...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just as lovely as I remembered...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I took my son for a one-night adventure to Galveston this week. Hotel Galvez was just as lovely as I remembered. I stayed there when I was his age! The service was over the top and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. We enjoyed walking across the street to the beach and then coming back to the hotel to lounge poolside. The hotel was family-friendly, right down to handing out popsicles by the pool. I would definitely stay there again with my entire family- and maybe try to steal a trip with just adults!

Room Tip: If just a party of two- ask for a corner room- two walls of windows makes for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    661
    322
    147
    86
See reviews for
719
957
54
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel galvez, great staff, very family friendly, only complaint was the pool was very cloudy, and dirty, probably from the rain, and staying in the room next to the "haunted" room was a little annoying as there were lots of people running around our room late at night, try to avoid rooms 500-510 to avoid all the crazy people looking for ghosts, otherwise great place and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 500-510
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great place to stay. Right on the beach. 101 years old but have done a super job of restoring it.
Great staff! Rumored to be haunted.......

Room Tip: Ask for gulf side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Service at pool was excellent. Customer service was understanding and helpful when original room did not meet our needs. But, room sizes are very small and the amenities were non-existent for the cost. I've stayed in hotels that cost MUCH LESS and had way nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Sorry you did not enjoy your room more. Hotel Galvez is a AAA rated Four Diamond Hotel so we have to pass very high standards to earn that honor. Yes, some of our rooms are smaller than non-historic hotels but they have all been updated and modernized. Next time try our Premium King rooms - they are our most spacious. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean. It is right on seawall blvd and in a good location with many restaurants nearby.

The room is so tiny that I have not seen any hotel rooms smaller than the hotel Galvez. It could be that os a historic hotel.

However, the design is awesome. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Thanks for appreiating the historic nature of "The Queen of the Gulf". Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

When we visit Galveston, we always stay at the Galvez. The Hotel and the grounds remind us of a bygone era. As mentioned in previous posts, the Hotel is immaculate and beautifully restored. Do not miss Sunday brunch. It is the "event" of the week on the Island. To say it is extravagent is an understatement. What really sets the Hotel apart is the high quality of service everyone at the Hotel offers you. You are always greeted with a smile and they truly extend every kindness to make your stay enjoyable. We had the pleasure of planning our most recent stay with the GM of the Hotel, Mr. Cunningham. Mr. Cunningham is dedicated to providing his guests with memorable stays and was most gracious to us.

If you need a "getaway", this is the Hotel for you.

Room Tip: The eight floor is a private floor with suites that overlook the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My childhood chum met me for a conference and we stayed at this beautifully restored Grand Dame of the Gulf. Our entire experiance was perfect (almost). Check in was quick and easy. Attendants were friendly, helpful, informative. Desk staff were happy to see us. My earlier requests were noted and followed to a tee. Upper floor, room directly across from elevator (no walking), and beautiful, large clean room with a fantastic view of the front lawn, Gulf, full moon over the water, and the fantastic light shows of the new Pleasure pier, WOW! Comfy beds, touch adjustable lighting, plenty of towels and toiletries. Ice machine that never played out. Back downstairs Mr. Bobby at the concierge desk, the resident Keeper of All knowledge, history, culture and ghosts happily escorted us on a passionate tour of the hotels incredible past, personalities (both dead and un-dead) and artifacts. The pool was serene and the grounds were impeccable. The "almost"? The Bar's legendary Brandy Alexander didn't live up to its reputation. It was supposed to be a in a Martini glass lined with chocolate, with a frozen flurry of brandy and liquer and ice cream to send one off to sweet dreams. Ours came bare of any lining, made with cream and ice cubes with a hint of vanilla and just maybe a little brandy. Our thoughts were more like "Weight Watcher milkshake". When queried our lady bartender explained that she did things differently from "the other guy, he's more flashy" Oh well. Everything else was practically perfect in every way, and when we return, we'll bring the right recipe!

Room Tip: 5th floor ocean view across from the elevator. Come on! Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.