We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerry makes the best omlettes!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jerry makes the best omlettes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel! Thomas the manager was very accommodating and made sure our group had a wonderful brunch! Jerry at omlette station was so friendly while I waited for my breakfast and made delicious omlette! Cheerful staff made this a great experience! Will return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. Our staff is here to serve and that includes Jerry who makes eggs to order for breakfast. Our entire staff's mission is to provide you with great service and a memorable stay. Jerry is a great service ambassador and I am so glad he made your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    603
    294
    133
    75
See reviews for
666
835
49
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Thomas the manager at the restaurant was AWESOME!! And Jerry cooked us a great omelette!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We just checked in for my daughters wedding. We reserved 10 rooms plus a honeymoon ste back in January. We requested in our contract our rooms be ocean view on 5th floor. We paid 4600.00 for these rooms and when we arrived we got 5 rooms on the 3rd floor and 5 rooms on the 5th, 1-10 were ocean view!!! Our entire family were split up and some ended up on cots!! We passed another wedding party and they also had similar issues with their rooms and severly dissapointed!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights March 28th. Service very friendly. A little pricey, average $240 nite- but one of the nicest. The Boss used the spa & was pleased with whatever it was she got done. Only 2 elevators in hotel-don't be in a hurry!
As in most historic hotels the rooms are very small. Friends had an 8th floor suite that was about as big as a Holiday Inn Express room. They were very clean and bedding and supplies were top-notch. We didn't have a table or "sitting" chair due to size. We did have 2 double beds, which took up a little more room.
Grounds & pool very nice. Parking free & easy, doormen helpful.
Sunday brunch is good, but at $40 is too much for an omelet & orange juice. How much can you eat, anyway?
This would be a great hotel for a couple with a big budget.

Room Tip: Rooms rated low due to size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a beautiful historic Hotel, my dad took me there many years ago for brunch, it was as memorable back in the early 80's as it was 3 months before he passed, You have to love the individual chefs for each different item, the waffle chef, the omelette chef, and their crepes are to die for, the brunch also has a wide variety of fruits, danish's , and the seating is wonderful and inviting, the booths are as old as hotel is, the entrance to the hotel is amazing, if you want to go for just brunch, you may want to either make a reservation, or get there early, but worth the wait, and all you can eat for $32 bux per person as of 2010, that was the last time my dad took me there, the waiter/waitress could have been a little more quicker with our beverages, but some things are worth the wait, as is the brunch if you do not get there early enough. And once again, make a reservation for the brunch, especially if you have 4 or more in your party, or be prepared to sit back and wait about 30-45 minutes, if you have to wait, it would make for a great time to look around and take in all the historic beauty of the hotel..Enjoy.

Room Tip: Just be specific, and look up the history of this glorious place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
You are right. Open Table has named The Hotel Galvez Sunday Brunch the best brunch in the Houston area! We take great pride in our history and in "old school" services like our Sunday Brunch. Thanks for your review and please come back soon. Brunch reservations are recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Galvez for one night before boarding our cruise to Mexico. Our stay began with a very friendly welcome from their helpful and efficient valet. The front desk staff kindly provided us with a corner room.

The room was nicely decorated, clean and quiet. Comfortable beds and good temperature control. Large flat screen TV.

We had a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant. I had seafood chop salad and my daughter had Caesar salad with shrimp. Warm garlic bread and butter was also served. The waitstaff was terrific! Salads were so large that we should have shared one. The cost was very reasonable for the nice dining atmosphere and the convenience of not having to leave the hotel.

In the morning, before leaving for the cruise, we had the smoked salmon and bagels. It was outstanding, with a very generous portion of salmon, chopped egg, red onion and capers. The coffee was a special Starbucks blend and also was very good.

The good news for cruise-goers is that you can leave your car at the hotel for a one-time fee of $15. They also provide free shuttle to the ship and back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison, IA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I were graciously given a two night stay at this hotel for our honeymoon from my father-in-law. It was a great place to stay very clean and friendly. Our room was supposed to be considered a suite, but it was just like any other hotel room to me. Nontheless it was perfect. It had a beautiful view and was great for me and the hubby. The pool in this hotel is TO DIE FOR! It's absolutely the best part of the whole hotel (other than being so close to the beach of course.) Overall it was a great stay and we had a great time! Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.