We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay for a short Galveston getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, Korea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay for a short Galveston getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel is a really cool hotel with a lot of history. First, it was built in 1911. They just celebrated their 100 year with a firework show on the beach. The building is in pretty good condition and you can tell they have put a lot of work into keeping it dated, but still renovated at the same time. It's a small hotel, so don't think you are coming to some sprawling resort. It's directly across from the beach. The hotel staff is very friendly and we had no problems with any service.

That said, a few things that could be better... they seem understaffed. Which seems odd considering the time of year (I went in June). But Valet parking was usually a good 15 to 20 minute wait so, call ahead. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. But if you're in a hurry, don't go there. Wait time for food is pretty lengthy. But there's plenty of seafood restaurants just outside the hotel. I recommend Millers which is the next building over to the left as you walk out of the hotel.

Then there are problems with Galveston beaches in general. If you plan to play in the sand, take a LOT of bug spray. Like "OFF". I went to the beach two days in a row and had these mysterious bites on my legs. I thought at first maybe they were jelly fish barbs or something. After asking around, I found out that Galveston is known for having Sand Fleas. Yes....... Fleas. They like the areas up under your clothing, so definitely spray there if you plan to play in the sand.

But, no real need to play in the sand. The hotel has a salt water pool and jacuzzi. lights up really cool at night.

The spa was pretty good but not a luxurious as some I've seen. More just like a service than a "getaway". Got my daughter a facial, mani/pedi, and makeup with lessons. For myself, I got a gentlemens hair cut that didn't turn out so good. It's meh~~

Lastly, the hotel services seem to close down a little early. Keep that in mind when planning your evening.

All in all, not a bad place to stay for a short vacation. It's not a 5-star beach resort and garden in Tahiti... but it's pretty nice and located in a great area for a short little Galveston vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    665
    322
    148
    87
See reviews for
723
961
54
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A+ all around for the Galvez.

Location is perfect. Being able to walk from the hotel to the beach and then back to the pool was fantastic. The lobby was great, drinks in the bar were delicious, had the Mavs game on - and the desk and front door staff were great as well....made a recommendation on the Black Pearl - which was the best oyster po-boy ever.

Loved Galveston, loved the Galvez, will be back soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ and get sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We checked in on Wednesday June 15 and upon entering the room we were overcome with the smell of paint. I called the front desk and was immediately given a different room. The room was outstanding(Gulf view). Thanks to Hotel Galvez our vacation was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

It's really tough to have any kind of negative criticism about "The Galvez". If I could, I'd give it 4.5 stars.... From the start, the valet attendants were always very helpful and courteous. The cost of valet parking is quite reasonable, especially if you are going in and out of the place several times a day. We chose to park in the covered area across the side street, which saved us a few bucks and was only slightly inconvenient.

The consierge and everyone at the front desk were very accomodating. We were upgraded to an "ocean view" room at no charge (though don't expect this during the "high" season). We only used room service for a couple of small items, but we were not charged for this service. Likewise, there were no "hidden" charges at the end of our visit.

The hotel is beautiful, historic and well maintained. Before our arrival, I was a bit concerned by the size of the rooms (given the original design sans private bathrooms), but when we arrived, we found our room to be of average size and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we were greatefully not bothered by the local ghosts. It was too bad we were unable to open the exterior windows. I believe the hotel does this to prevent moisture from the gulf from entering the rooms, so don't expect great outdoor photo ops from your room...

I hit the pool well after hours and was never hassled. Though we never saw it during the day, the pool and swim-up bar looked really nice. A little close to Seawall Ave, but at night the traffic is hardly noticeable.....

We hardly took advantage of the facilities and SPA since we were exploring the area during our three days in Galveston. The hotel is historically sublime and elegant yet not overdone. Nearly perfect in every way. Good deals on rates through The Net. If you shop around and visit at the right time, you'll find prices at the Galvez only slightly higher than much lesser hotels. A solid 4.5 all the way around.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Your experience is why The Galvez is called The Queen of the Gulf. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The staff was extremely friendly. The appearance of the exterior hotel - exceptional.
I was given a military discount and didn't ask about the size of the room.
It was extremely small and the windows were so dirty one couldn't see out.
There wasn't any kind of "sofa" style chair to sit in and we paid almost $300 for the room!
I've stayed in way better for way less money.
Do not recommend the hotel and was totally unimpressed with Galveston. If one drives one block in from the ocean drive - it's all ghetto.
Bright side: thought Gaido's sea food restaurant was very good - great crab cakes!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. Sorry you were not happy with the size of your room. This is a 100 year old, historic hotel and some rooms just are not as large as new hotels. The rooms are still very functional and have all been remodeled. For your next visit or those looking for a larger room please consider Gulf view rooms or our premium kings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a recent vacation to Texas, prior to returning home. We now wish we had stayed longer.
The hotel's location is on the sea front - we had a seaview. The room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and very clean.
We did not use the restuarant or breakfast service as there we a number of local option available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The Gulf water views are great this time of year as you saw. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE WOODLANDS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had one of the best stays we have had in many years at this hotel. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to Galveston in the future or now.
My Compliments to the Staff and the Hotel Management for a wonderful stay.
Kenny
Texas

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.