We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still recovering from Ike” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Flight Museum

Lone Star Flight Museum
2002 Terminal Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
409 740 7722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a large aircraft hangar, this world-class aviation museum features restored aircraft and historic photographs.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still recovering from Ike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I still really enjoyed coming here, but it's a shadow of it's pre-Ike days (which was very impressive). Now it's really just a hanger with full of aircraft. Some are in immaculate condition, others not-so-good shape.
The state of disarray isn't something the museum can really control, but they'll be much better off when they move to Ellington.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    66
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as before Ike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The museum still does not have all the exhibits of pre Ike, but has all of the planes and is very interesting none the less. Hopefully in time they will be able to restore the entire facility and get the funds to open it back it. Still a great stop for the aviation enthusiast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still in disarray.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I guess the museum is still in disarray from Ike. I found numerous information boards that did not pertain to the aircraft I was looking at. There were at least three aircraft pushed into a corner and roped of with no information at all. Most of the aircraft were in excellent shape and some of them still flyable. I was lucky enough to tag on to one of the mechanics taking some friends around or I would have left a lot sooner with a lot less knowledge about certain aircraft. There definitely is a lack of information available on anything. They also had the B25 out back on a runway and were running the engines up on it. Nice to hear the sound of those radial engines going through their paces. Was probably the highlight of the tour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great WWII aircraft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The museum is small, but it's definitely worth seeing if you're an aviation buff. The collection of WWII aircraft (many of which still fly) is great. Nothing like getting up close to these vintage aircraft that have been restored perfectly. My uncle was a B17 navigator during the war so it meant a lot to me to see it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great value and great aircraft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Well worth the money, the place is kept very clean and lots to look at if you are an aircraft enthusiast!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Flight Museum also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Lone Star Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Flight Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.