We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Walk Thru Aviation History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Flight Museum

Lone Star Flight Museum
2002 Terminal Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
409 740 7722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a large aircraft hangar, this world-class aviation museum features restored aircraft and historic photographs.
Pleasant Grove, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Walk Thru Aviation History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great place to get up close to many Vintage Military Aircraft ! Museum also has a nice gift
shop with unusual aviation items. A must see for anyone, but especially military veterans.
Planes are meticulously kept.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    66
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I loved this museum. Albeit fairly small, it was a good value entrance fee, worth every penny. the collection varies of course, but when I was there in August 2013 apart from the beautiful B-17 (one of only 6 still flying anywhere in the world) there was the now sadly lost P-51 Galveston Gal (still my computer background photo), a beautfully turned out P-47 and similarly pristine B-25 amongst others. Along with the Evergreen museum in McMinnville, Oregon, and the Pima museum in Tucson, arizona, aviation buffs should not miss this treat of a museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lots of vintage aircraft here. Easy to walk through with up close looks at the planes. Military and commercial aircraft are displayed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very good place for the entire family. If you are into airplanes and history do make this a stop in Galveston!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“One of the best aviation museums period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I love this museum. It is one of the best I have seen and I tour all that I can when I am in a city that host one.

Unfortunately we lost a pilot, passenger and a beautiful TF-51 Mustang yesterday in the Galveston West Bay.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Flight Museum also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Lone Star Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Flight Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.