We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependably good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Louie's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Catfish Louie's
1825 East Highway 82, Gainesville, TX 76240
940 665 2779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dependably good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The food and service are always good. Prices are very reasonable. One of Gainesville's best. Enjoy. I eat there regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a surprise! We walked in to a VERY crowded happy looking joint. Ordered the 12 piece catfish meal to go. Oh my! We walked out with a BOX full of food!! Upon getting back to the room, the food was still hot and may I say delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super Affordable and Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went here with a large group 17 of us! Our family in Gainesville eats here often and loves it.. We all ate (6 kids) for under 140.00 for lunch.. The food was hot and very delicious.. They have a wonderful salad bar, and lots of tasty meats - smoked ribs, bbq meats, catfish, chicken, ham, okra, potatoes, bread -- it was just great! Would of gave it 5 stars but the two gals in the front seemed a little taken back by our large group and we seated ourselves.. but our waitress was very sweet!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food here is always good and you could load up on as much as you like. My favorites are the smoked ribs, catfish, and fried squash. And unlimited Texas toast has got to be the best idea ever! The only thing I don't like is how they changed their amazing chicken strips into some chicken product finger thing, however, all the rest is sooooo good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nasty and Bad Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was on my way back to DFW and was craving Catfish; I went to Trip Advisor and search Catfish, “Catfish Louie’s” pops up with mixed reviews, the most recent where good. The first clue was a bunch of trashy people hanging around the back. The main entry door was dirty and nasty, looked like it had not been washed in years, (THE FIRST THING PEOPLE SEE WHEN ENTERING YOUR PLACE) the inside that you push to go out is BLACK. We had a group of 4 and the ladies and wanted to leave then. Hey for good food I will overlook some cleaning issues.
We were greeted by several very friendly ladies, who promptly informed us about the buffet items,
All you can EAT. This is a former long ago Underwood’s Bar B Q, still using the same trays, furniture and equipment. This place is an old run down, dirty building that no money has been put into in many years.

As I mentioned I will forgo atmosphere for great food. Not the case with Louie’s.
The Catfish if you can call it that was cold and stringy, all the vegetables cold in their warming trays, I had a BBQ rib, may be the best part of the meals and the green tomato relish excellent, cobblers fair, Ice Cream frozen and almost would not come out of the machine.

The best way to describe the food is to go to a grocery store buy the cheapest frozen fish/Shrimp dinner, let it thaw on the sidewalk and eat it. It would taste the same and be less expensive.
Don’t waste your money……Turn Back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.