We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCKKK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Louie's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Catfish Louie's
1825 East Highway 82, Gainesville, TX 76240
940 665 2779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Gainesville, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“YUCKKK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Flies, not real clean; food is marginal at best; atmosphere is bad

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yesterday's Buffet Today”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews we came here instead of driving on to Marietta , OK. Should have driven on. Ribs were dry. Yesterday's brisket was floating in today's grease. Catfish was rubbery. Shrimp were all stuck togethet . Coblers were dried to the pan. Tables were sticky.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Catfish and Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Their chili rellenos are the best I've ever had. They ruined me for them from anywhere else. Good food. Try the green tomato relish. You can even buy a jar of it at the register. Good catfish too. Where else can you get this combination of good food?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

First discovered this restaurant when I was on holiday in Texas, now that I live in the USA we go to this place whenever we are in Gainesville. Great place, good service, great food, fresh and yummy, all you can eat... super value without losing any quality.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartzsite, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST CATFISH AND BUFFET EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We travel miles out of our way to go to this restaurant - although we know it as The Ranch House. The buffet features BBQ and cat fish cooked to perfection. I love BBQ but the catfish here is terrific. You will not be disappointed! Casual atmosphere, reasonable prices, friendly staff - great food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.