We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fried Pie Co and Restaurant .

Fried Pie Co and Restaurant .
202 West Main, Gainesville, TX 76240
940-665-7641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Jarrell, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Buyer beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

not worth the trip fried pies were not so good and Im a southern girl we had our grandchildren and we ate breakfast, way tooooooooooo expensive and the food just OK. Cool old building a but you can find a better place to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Fried Pie in Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a fun little place on the Courthouse Square! The lunch choices were very tasty and realRly reasonable. BUT......then there are the fried pies! If your grandma made fried pies, these may even be better. We had the apricot, and I have to say it was delectable! Flaky crust and filing that actually tasted like there was real fruit! This little spot is like walking back in time. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Closed, Closed, and Closed Again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The website says one thing, but the restaurant does another. Twice we stopped when the website showed them to be open, and twice we found them closed. What a disappointment. Get it together, Fried Pie Co.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fried Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

They are freshly made fried pies that we grab each time we head to Frank Buck Zoo. They are good, but could use more filling.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
2,012 reviews 2,012 reviews
1,481 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
819 helpful votes 819 helpful votes
“Just Off The Court House Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Traveling through town and just looking for a place to eat. Found the Fried Pie Co & Restaurant just opposite the court house square and since we saw a lot of people entering the restaurant we decided to give it a try. After entering you notice that the place is in real need of a renovation and looks inside as though you have stepped back in time. There was a special board as we entered so we opted for the special, chicken fried streak, cold slaw, fries and beans. We saw the menu and it was quite extensive and made us wonder how such a small town restaurant could be a specialist in so many items.The steak came covered in white gravy and it was the gravy hot gravy that gave the think piece of breaded meat some flavor and heat. There was a roll that also came with the meal. It was just a roll. The slaw was OK but I would not necessarily order again. Ate most of the chicken fried steak. looked at the counter with the fired pies, and there was a wide assortment of flavors, but opted against it as they were more than $2 a pie.The wait service was reasonably good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fried Pie Co and Restaurant . also viewed

 

Been to Fried Pie Co and Restaurant .? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fried Pie Co and Restaurant ., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.