We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3902 North Highway 35, PO Box 310, Fulton, TX 78358   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fulton
Allen, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not only did my room ( which I was told was recently renovated) smell like sewage and feces (not kidding), but when I expressed my concerns to the desk person, he didn't care, was unprofessional and basically negated my concerns stating " I usually sell this room for $100/nt" and "there is nothing wrong with the room". I tried to be nice but the guy who appeared to be the Manager, did not care. Customer service was not a priority. Initially I requested air freshener and he brought me some, but after 30 minutes. the smell was still overwhelming. The door to the room did not have an electronic entry and was dirty, almost muddy. He refused to reimburse me for the ,room and even for the pet fee which was not advertised on hotels.com (they were also unhelpful in assisting me to get my money back - another story. I was in the room for about 30 minutes. To me, it was worth losing the money and getting another hotel as there was no way I could stay there, especially after the way the proprietor acted.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. It is awful, poorly managed and certainly not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    10
    11
    26
See reviews for
27
21
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Recenty stayed at Econo Lodge, needed hotel that accepted pets as I have two dogs. Feel that for the price and the area, this was a good value, rooms were clean and service was good. The breakfast was cooked fresh and was very good, also had wine in lobby in afternoon which I thought was nice. The manager Kurt was very nice and asked how we were liking our stay, there was also a young man who came into the lobby on Friday evening looking for a room, he was traveling for business at the last minute and could not locate a room. Kurt advised that he did not have any rooms available but called around and was able to locate him a room. I thought this was a nice thing for him to do as he did not have to do this. They also worked with us on when we wanted our room cleaned due to our dogs being in it. Swam in the pool and ti was fine. Overall, feel a good value for the price and the area especially since they accept pets for a small fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I looked for reviews before we stayed at this hotel and I seriously cannot see how anyone could recommend this place. We rented two rooms and they were both equally gross. It is really run down. Not only is it run down & dirty - the towels,matresses and sheets all had stains. In spite of the stains, at least the sheets clean. The sink and tub were also stained like a public restroom! Had there been anywhere else in town that had a room availiable (believe me we called) we would have left!

In addition we had a "suite" (their term, not mine), there was no bedding for the sofa bed in the room, when we called down for the bedding, they refused to bring it to us. Oh and the view from our window is a very run down trailor park. You can hear everything through the walls, including showers, flushes and everytime anyone opens and closes a door. The have window AC units, they are loud and either you are freezing with it on or hot and muggy with it off.

So buyer beware - if you just want a cheap place or are desperate to crash stay there - I would not bring a family here and we would never stay there again!

*We did not eat there. We also did not go into the pool as the water looked looked murky

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Bathroom was not clean when we arrived nor was the microwave. Attitude of the employee who came back to clean wasn't the best. Tub had been painted in stops. Each day we had to ask for towels. They didn't leave any on a couple of the days. Hot breakfast was very good each morning. Happy hour featured wine (not chilled.) Grounds were well kept and kids loved the pool. Took advantage of the charcoal grill and cooked out one evening. Stayed four nights and guess for the price it was okay but will probably go elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Saturday June 30, decided with friends to go to Fulton/Rocport for a couple of days, July 3 and 4. Started looking at hotels and everything was TAKEN. So went to Hotels.com ( Another story) checked to see what was available, almost nothing except two (2) rooms at the Rockport Econolodge Inn and Suites for $70 dollars a night, when everything else was $150. So set it up for two nights ( Hotels.com got it wrong, only reserved them for 1 night) Anyway, I had to call the hotel to fix it and lo and behold a young lady named Yolanda answered and in thirty seconds fixed us up (hotels.com couldn't fix in 3 hours). we were expecting a little less than, well you know, not so good. SURPRISE!, this place was super nice, clean, clean rooms, flat screen TVs, manicured grounds, free HOT Breakfast and believe it or not HAPPY HOUR with beer and wine, FREE to paying guests. Kurt Patel is GM and he does a fantastic job. Overall opinion from the four of us. GOOD, great! reasonable, clean warm and friendly and a great breakfast staff as well as front desk. Yolanda and Bianca are bright spots behind the desk and Kurt and his wife are doing a superb job. My recommendation is if in Rockport/Fulton and you need a good place to spend a couple of days that will not make you uncomfortable and hurt the wallet, a place to sit in the lobby have a beer and relax, then the Rockport Econolodge Inn & Suites is the place to be. Thanks again to Kurt, Yolanda, Bianca, and The Breakfast Ladies, WE ENJOYED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The place is not up to Best Westeran standards, grounds are poorly maintained, rooms are deteriorating from lack of maintence. One saving grace, if you are looking for an inexpensive no frills room for a night, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Best Western reservation E-mail confirmed rate using AAA discounts for 2 nights (which included $10 rate increase on Friday) but hotel did not give AAA discount for Fri. so rate increased almost $10 over written confirmed rate.Was not informed of AAA discount refusal for Friday upon check-in.After inquiring about the rate change at checkout, clerk stated it was still a discounted rate.Best Western Reservation Supervisor said hotel manager should get in touch within 7 days never heard from him. Otherwise room was clean, most of staff helpful and courteous. Stayed the month before with no problems but did not have a reservation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay

Address: 3902 North Highway 35, PO Box 310, Fulton, TX 78358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Fulton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Best Western Fulton
Fulton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.