We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour of whooping cranes and other birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockport Birding and Kayak Adventures

Rockport Birding and Kayak Adventures
202 North Fulton Beach Road, Fulton, TX 78382
(361) 727-0643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Fulton
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour of whooping cranes and other birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Capt. Tommy Moore knows the area for birding and knows where the whooping crane are staying. We got within 100 feet of a pair of whooping cranes. We got to see the male catch a blue crab and eat it. Capt Moore knows the area and we saw at least 20 maybe 30 other species of birds. His book on whooping crane is a wonderful gift for anyone interested in them. Go to the upper deck as soon as possible just to talk with the captain. His stories of the area are something you must hear, plus he has a great sense of humor. Listen to him and you will learn so much about the birds you are viewing and the area, such as restaurants and other sights.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Well worth the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our second trip on The Skimmer. Our trip was postponed by one day due to high winds. I always agree with SAFETY FIRST! We went out on Wednesday morning and there was a fairly stiff breeze with about a two foot swell on the bay. The Skimmer was stable and steady. It was kind of chilly in early March, but we were dressed for it. We had about a half hour transit of the Bay to get to the birding grounds. Once we settled down to birding, the winds over the deck diminished and it was comfortable to watch. Captain Tommy knew how to narrate the birds and he knows them all. His narrations are more in the way of "captions" to what you are seeing. He is non-intrusive. On this outing (which lasted 3 hours 15 minutes) we saw in excess of 40 species, including the Whooping Cranes. As an added bonus, we got to see and photograph a beautiful bobcat. According to Captain Tommy, this was the second he had seen in TEN years of tours! Previous visitors have complained about spending extra time. If he could have kept us out ALL DAY, no one in OUR boat load would have complained. It was well worth every second and every penny!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charismatic captain who understands his customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let me start with the captain, Tommy is a charismatic and try to make all of his customers happy, the core birders and the birder companions. He understands his business very well, obviously. Even though it's a birding trip, he attracted a family of dolphins for us and "encouraged" the dolphins to swim right next to the boat for many minutes. Charming, memorable, love the dolphins!

Yes, we saw the whooping cranes, took their pictures with super duper camera lense (which is why most people paid the money to get on the boat). I think most of the core birders in our group were satisfied too.

If you love nature or want to see a George Clooney look alike captain, it's worth the price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good; but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The tour 3 hour tour on the "skimmer" is a great way to spend time on the water enjoying the protected waterways on the Texas coast and seeing the many birds and dolphins. However for me the tour was disappointing because having just come from the South Padre Island birding center where I saw most of the birds at close range, here most of them were a long way away. The main reason for going on this tour was to see the whooping cranes, and even though we did see some, these too were quite far away and not the greatest for photography. I realize that there of course is no guarantee that they will be at close range. With the exception of the cranes, there are better places for the birding enthusiast.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our trip aboard the Skimmer was outstanding. Not only did we see whooping cranes, but also an astonishing number of other birds of all kinds, as well as dolphins. The captain was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockport Birding and Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Rockport Birding and Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockport Birding and Kayak Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.