We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Barbque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q
9828 Dallas Pkwy, Frisco, TX 75033
(972) 712-7839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 324 restaurants in Frisco
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Barbque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We sampled all of Rudy's barbque, brisket, chicken, turkey and sausages, and every bit of it was excellent. This is a great family restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    27
    32
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“San Antonio BBQ in Frisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rudy's has become a fast growing chain of BBQ restaurant / gas station, with locations opening up constantly. I really love it for breakfast, they have the best breakfast tacos! The BBQ is consistent, a little pricey compared with local joints, but smoked brisket and ribs are pretty good... Note to all - Texas BBQ is very subjective, different techniques give you very different results, so I rated this very good as to me that means better then average, so better then Spring Creek, much better then Dickey's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The menu is way over priced. Top dollar for average Barbecue. The BBQ sauce was under flavored. bring your own tobasco. It was gimmicky but not a great value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Looking for authentic Texas BBQ? You won't be disappointed. They also have free grilled cheese sandwiches--as many as you'd like.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Rudy's is not up to its reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went out of my way to take in lunch at Rudy's in Frisco, TX. I shouldn't have. The brisket sandwich was just so-so. Yes, I love the seasoning used (spicy) and the BBQ sauce is certainly above average. But I've come to expect that really good BBQ brisket is tender, not tough. This brisket was tough. I've had lots better.

I ordered a side of Rudy's baked beans and again was underwhelmed as compared with others in the Dallas area. The taste was okay but I just didn't enjoy the consistency nor the Styrofoam cup it is served in.

The ambiance is nice -- this place has lots of people capacity, with fun artifacts hanging all over the place. Frankly I was surprised that there weren't more people there for lunch.

All considered, when factoring in the price, I think Rudy's is just average -- you can do better at other Dallas area BBQ establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's "Country Store" & Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.