We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still open!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tupy's Mexican

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
tupy's Mexican
6975 Lebanon Rd, Ste 300, Frisco, TX 75034-6752
214-705-7864
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 338 Restaurants in Frisco
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Frisco, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

For a while we were hearing rumors Tupy's had closed, but they are still open and going strong! A great casual place for your traditional Mexican restaurant favorites. Perfect for family or large groups. Margarita's and Fajita Chicken Nachos are my favs!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tupy;s has nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I personally don't like real spicy Mexican food and this was very spicy to me. My husband liked it but I won't go back. I like the atmosphere but we tried several menu items and I found it all to be too hot for my taste.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
613 helpful votes 613 helpful votes
“Good chips and enchiladas.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My family enjoys the chips and salsa, enchiladas, and quesadillas from Tupy's. The food is good, the service is friendly and the tables are clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A great change of pace for the family. We had a great experience with the food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Creek, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Chicken Fajitas...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant is owned by the son of the owner of Tupinamba's on Inwood Road. Tupinamba's is the oldest family-owned Mexican restaurant in Dallas, I'm pretty sure. The recipes and the menus are the same at both places. While I haven't tried everything on the menu, the marinated chicken fajitas are EXCELLENT and their salsa and chips are THE BEST.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tupy's Mexican also viewed

 

Been to tupy's Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tupy's Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.