We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fried pickles are great ... and that's the only thing great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of On The River Restaurant

On The River Restaurant
919 W 2nd St, Freeport, TX 77541-5250
979-233-1352
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“The fried pickles are great ... and that's the only thing great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've been here a couple of times, and it is mostly a disappointment. The cost is too high for the quality of the cooking ... but the basket of fried pickles is great. (Make sure you get your waiter to bring them to you hot; like another reviewer, ours were not brought as soon as they came out of the fryer!) The fish is overcooked and spare. The tiny salad you get with your entrée is truly laughable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitney,TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed Expense”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

There are few choices in the Lake Jackson/Freeport area. First clue this place is not on the river it's accross the street from the Brazos. Our party of 4 ordered 2 appetizers the "signature" fried pickles were stone cold. The lettuce for the salad was brown coleslaw was not edible, the "homemade thousand island" tasted like mayo with kethcup. Steaks and seafood entrees just not up to par when the bill = $34 per person. YUK!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I wanted to try something new yesterday so we drove down to Freeport to have a casual lunch. We heard that this was a great restaurant. We were there on a Monday at 11:30 a.m. - we had to wait almost an hour to get a table but it was worth it. The food was amazing - great gumbo, excellent cole slaw and the blackberry cobbler was to die for. The atmosphere is comfortable, the service was friendly. What more can you ask for. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A lot of good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Loved the Crab au grautin. The seafood is excellent and try the pickiled onions. We had a party of 14 and everyone agreed this was a great restaurant with great service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We are vacationing and staying in surfside beach I recommend this to all of you out there a must eat a must see a must do the price is reasonably priced the food was great if I could rate above 5 stars I would.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The River Restaurant also viewed

Freeport, Texas Gulf Coast
Freeport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Freeport, Texas Gulf Coast
Freeport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to On The River Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The River Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.