We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Maid Service??? Really???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Full Moon Inn

Save Saved
You added Full Moon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Full Moon Inn
3234 Luckenbach Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 off weekday stay
Ranked #16 of 79 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“No Maid Service??? Really???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I guess I should start with what went right at the Full Moon Inn. The breakfast is extremely good and the location, if you're going to Lukenbach is ideal. Other than that, I feel we were totally robbed.

Upon arrival, we were ushered into the main house, cluttered with baby toys and sundry other things through the living room to a small hallway type office in the back. After the check-in process was completed we were shown to our room, the Coral Room. It is very dated and lacks the amenities that a $175 a night room should have. Simple things like a shower, working fireplace, working light bulbs and toilet seat. The bathtub (jacuzzi) is in the bedroom with a shower handle hanging over the side of the tub. There are hooks attached to the ceiling for some unknown reason. After getting a full briefing on the operations of the fireplace, Matt left. We went to dinner and came "home" to find the pilot light had gone out. So I followed Matt's instructions to the "T" with no luck. So, at 9:30 in the evening, I called to have him come out to assist in lighting the fireplace. He was very short on the phone and then when he arrived we could tell he was just a little bit upset with having to come out to help us. He banged away at the fireplace and got it lit and then stormed out without even a "good night". Fine customer service. Well, about 3 minutes after he left the fireplace went out, completely on it's own. I figured it was just easier to live without it than make THAT call again and risk the wrath of Matt. So the next morning, I advised him of the issue, after breakfast. He was much more pleasant and advised he would work on it. We left for the day and enjoyed our time in and around Fredericksburg.

Upon returning to the room in the evening to freshen up and get ready for dinner, we found that not only were the above mentioned items missing, but there was NO MAID SERVICE. Really??? For $175 a night, no maid service??? I highly recommend you try another place out, for the price these people are charging. There are literally a hundred better places than the Full Moon Inn.

Room Tip: Choose one at a different B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2205, Owner at Full Moon Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are happy to provide a response:
#1 The Coral Room is not dated. All of our rooms' decor is updated frequently. Our amenities are listed on our website, so every guest is aware of the amenities and the price before booking the room.

#2 The Shower in the Coral Room is located in the Jacuzzi tub. Guests are aware of this before booking our Jacuzzi rooms.

#3 After reading this review, the Coral Room was inspected for burned out light bulbs, and there were none. This is a false statement.

#4 All of our rooms have toilet seats. This is a false statement.

#5 The hooks attached to the ceiling were used for a canopy over the bed that has now been removed. The hooks were also removed.

#6 Maid service: The Full Moon Inn does not offer maid service. We do not enter our guest's rooms at any time after the check in process. If a guest needs any extra towels, soap, etc, we are happy to provide for those needs.

#7 Now I would like to address the fireplace issue. Sometimes the safety feature, called a thermocouple, will fail. The thermocouple has been replaced, but on Saturday morning we were unable to "order" and have the new part shipped until after the weekend.

Matt was not "short" with the guests. When they called at 930pm Matt was WHISPERING due to a sleeping baby. We are very sorry that a guest would think we were being rude by simply whispering. We have owned and successfully operated this B&B for 20 years. We have very good reviews We do aim to please so from now on we will not be allowing our guests to come through the living room. Guests will check in directly at the office entrance. Our 10 month old twins do play with toys in our home, so now the guests will not have to see our children's toys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
58
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Full Moon Inn with no B&B exp. we loved it got away from the city and had a blast hearing Matt's stories. We plan to come back and stay again not sure when but if you like a place near Fredericksburg but not near main st this is your place about 5 mins away from all that main st has to offer. Matt was very nice to recomend some places as well as some things to do. I loved their breakfast and would go just for that all and all it was a great first bed and breakfast experience and we would love to do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We’ve visited Fredericksburg many times, but this was the first time we’ve stayed at the Full Moon Inn. We loved it and plan to stay here on our future visits to the area. It’s perfect – you experience the gorgeous Hill Country, while still being very close to town. The suites and cottages have all the amenities, but are filled with Hill Country character. The proprietor is a long-time resident (and foodie) who provides excellent advice on the best restaurants, attractions, and things to do in the area. Breakfasts are wonderful – the Luckenbach eggs and sweet potato pancakes alone are worth the trip. We’re already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our entire family of 18 people stayed at the Full Moon Inn during the Christmas holidays. We chose this Inn because they let us bring our children and our dogs. Matt and Ginny showed us true Texas hospitality. During the stay, it seems that we were always in need of something we forgot....dog food, tylenol, etc. and the Inn happily was able to cater to all our needs. We stayed in the Log cabin with our kids and our other family members took up all the other rooms. Everyone was happy, even my hard to please mother in law. Breakfast was served to us in the dining room, and they even took special requests for a gluten free person that was with us and a diabetic. You can actually bathe in the tubs at the Full Moon Inn, everything is THAT clean.

The Full Moon Inn has a creek on the grounds that our kids were able to go fishing in, and they have an outdoor stage. Our large group brought a kareoke machine, and we hung out together and sang each night. We are planning a family reunion in the Summer and will come here again. It was only a few minutes away from Main Street in Fredericksburg too.

Room Tip: The Log Cabin is perfect if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The area was very pretty and quiet. I have never done a negative review, but, had too with this one. The Coral Room was in such disrepair, I was shocked they charged so much for it. We arrived in the main house to check in and were greeted with Matt and Ginny's kids and toys everywhere! Not a very welcome sight for the weary traveler! We were asked to go into a small area to pay for our stay, which was a mess as well with paper, toys and kids. We got to our room, which was 70's decor at best, not the typical B & B. Our bathroom door was broken and we were told to use two hands to move it back and forth.......What?? I told Matt the price of this room $175.00 was high for having to move our door in this manner so he removed the door and brought up a shower curtain to give us privacy..... The door under the sink was broken, no toilet seat cover, the shades were difficult to move up and down to get a view to the outside, the fireplace stopped working the second night, there was not enough hot water our first night, the coffee cups for our use were dirty. There were picture hooks in the walls where pictures should have been, eye hooks still in the ceiling for?? The room below us took up the whole bottom floor, had a full kitchen, table and chairs, full refrigerator, large bathroom and good sized bedroom all for 25$ more than what we paid?? How is that balanced pricing? Matt gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience with the door, which was a nice gesture. The breakfast was good and the directions to restaurants with good food was spot on, the grounds were quiet and well kept, otherwise, we will not be back. I would not recommend this B & B unless they lower their prices significantly and fix the items mentioned to allow for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2205, Owner at Full Moon Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
The review posted is not accurate. First of all we had family here for the holidays and and all of our children were celebrating Christmas , so yes the toys were out. We have a office were this couple checked in and yes its a busy time and so it was not perfect.
The Bathroom Pocket door was destroyed by previous guests , However we could not get a carpenter to come and repair/replace the door during Christmas, so I was able to rehang the door , but you had to use two hands to close it, So that was unacceptable to this guest , So I removed the door for this guest and put up a curtain within 15 minutes of them checking in to their room. The door under the sink is not broken.The toilet seat is a commercial seat and does not have a cover. This unit has a 90 gallon water heater and in 16 years no one has ever run out of Hot water.The fire place works fine, they turned off the pilot light and could not restart it which is very simple to restart. However all they had to do was ask me to come and relight it But they did not. The pricing on that room is based on the fact that it has a Jacuzzi tub and fire place , The suite below does not have those amenities.
We regret this couple could not be satisfied , My wife and I work very hard to make sure everyone has a great experience. During the Holidays is especially hard there is alot of folks with no family or cannot be with family and emotions are tense.
The door has been fixed as of January 3rd , We have changed our check in area to just the office and will not allow anyone to come into Our front home door anymore. What ashame we always want to make folks feel like they are part of our extended family.
Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After reading the great reviews we were excited for our stay at The Full Moon Inn. It wasn't quite what we were expecting, however.
We walked in to a messy, chaotic kitchen/living room. Matt was at the kitchen island with his back to the door talking to other guests. He was giving them insight on the local restaraunts, etc. Very nice, but just left us standing there for over 5 minutes wtih no acknowledgement, etc. My husband finally had to interrupt to ask if we were in the right place. We didn't mind waiting until the others were finished, it would just have been nice to have some kind of welcoming nod for us to know we hadn't just walked into to someone's private home.
Ginny then hollered at us from behind a door to come back to the office. She was very nice and accomodating. We had booked one room and it was on the first floor. Another guest had booked another room and expected trouble with stairs so Ginny asked if we minded being upgraded to the better room. That was ok with us until we saw it. If this is the best room it made me very nervous. It was very old (and not in a good/charming way). It did have a fireplace and jacuzzi tub, but the side panels were falling off the tub. And it was in the middle of the bedroom. And there was no shower, just this tub. So if you want to take a shower you'd better be ready to do it in the middle of the room, no warmth, no curtain, and I can't imagine how someone can shower without soaking the bed since its only a foot of so from the tub.
We told Matt that this was not what we wanted and although they did put us back in the room we'd reserved he let us know he was really put out about it.
The worst part, however, was that after our initial meeting with Matt and family there was no way we were comfortable eating in their kitchen. And this was an expensive room for just a room with no breakfast. Matt told us that him and two of his kids were on the verge of pnuemonia. He was clearly not feeling well, but this didn't prevent him from shaking hands, touching surfaces in the room, etc. And while we were checkng in one of the children was sitting at the kitchen island licking the salt shaker. Not sure if this was one of the sick or well children but it was enough to scare us away from anything coming from that kitchen. There was also food left laying out and it just didn't look clean.
This would be an ok place if you have kids or want kids around. Matt and Ginny have several small children, and while they were very well behaved it just doesn't lend itselft to the "calm and tranquil" setting the website indicates.
On a positive note, this is the closest B&B or any accomodation to Luckenbach Dance Hall. So if you are wanting to party it up in Luckenbach, this is a very convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2205, Owner at Full Moon Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
In response to this review: On the day this lovely couple checked in, we were having Christmas with our extended family that flew in from all over the USA. Therefore the "messy, chaotic living room" was due to our children, nieces and nephews opening their Christmas presents. We live here, and our guests do come in our front door to check in. This couple did not have to wait 5 minutes for a welcoming nod. Sometimes, guests check in at the same time, but we would never leave someone standing in our living room awkwardly for 5 minutes.

As far as the switching of the rooms. This young couple agreed to stay in the Cypress Room over a month before the reservation, here is a copy of the e-mail:

From: Kimberlee -------- <kimberlee------@-------.com>
Subject: Our stay in December

Message Body:
Ginny,

I'm so sorry that I haven't gotten back to you regarding our stay at the end of December. If you need to move us to the Cypress room that's fine. We'll take either room.

Thanks. Kimberlee

When this guest saw the jacuzzi she stated "I can't bathe in front of my husband, I'm not comfortable with this set up" so we immediately placed the couple into the cottage that they originally had booked. Oh, and the "side panels" were not falling off the side of the tub. Every jacuzzi tub has an access panel.

And now let me talk about the "eating in the kitchen" part of this review. First of all, we don't serve food in the kitchen. Second of all, noone in our house "was on the verge of pneumonia", we had one 9 month old baby with a cold, and our guests do not hang out with our baby and our baby does not hang out in our guests dining room. A nine month old baby also cannot "sit at the kitchen island and lick the salt shaker". as far as "food laying out", there was a fresh plate of cookies in the island that were cooling.

In closing, we deeply apologize that this couple did not have the experience they wanted. However, this review is malicious and contains information that is not accurate. We have never had a review of this type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here when celebrating our 7th wedding anniversary. Ginny and Matt treated us better than family by suggesting places to go to see and best resturants and gave us a map of the area. Matt personally took us to our room. We stayed in The Grape Suite which was very relaxing. The rocking chairs on the front porch were comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. I recommend calling them personally to check on room availability as they had a room available when hotels.com said they didn't. This is relaxing oasis.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Full Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Inn

Address: 3234 Luckenbach Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Full Moon Inn is a Traditional Bed and Breakfast in Fredericksburg Texas.Our rooms are clean and super comfortable and when you check in, you are greeted by the owners and concierge to the best attractions and restaurants. Established in 1992 the Inn has served a full hot breakfast for all our guests.We are located just minutes away from the 290 wine corridor where the Texas Wine Trail offers great wine tastings. We are just 1/2 mile from Luckenbach Texas Dance Hall. Minutes away from Fredericksburg Trade Days,The Wildseed Farm and Main StreetFredericksburg Dining & Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Full Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full Moon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.