We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunday House Inn to your Saves list
Sunday House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute thinking it was not much. The pictures on the website were out dated. Once I pulled in I noticed the outside had been remodeled. I checked in and the staff was great. They were very helpful in giving me directions and telling me about the events the town had. They even told me about the shuttle to the winery’s which picked up across the street. The room I had was recently remodeled. It looked great and I felt like I was staying at a more expensive hotel. Breakfast was included and for a continental it was very good. They had fresh kolaches and a cappuccino machine. Over all I was impressed and it was a great weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSchorr, Manager at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

My staff is always eager to help our guests in anyway that they can

Please call anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    90
    46
    16
    21
See reviews for
67
97
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a room that had not been remodeled yet. It was really large and clean. I did get to see a room that had been remodeled and those are really nice. The location in good. It is the closest hotel to the shops and restaurants on Main Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rinsed coffee pot filter - black grounds everywhere. Stepped on a Nyquil gel cap. No evidence of vacuuming. Bathroom tiles cracked and loose. Hair on shower curtain. Staff friendly, but could do nothing about internet signal. Family stayed across the parking lot on a different floor. Nice suites up there, but again, no internet. Visited in late July. AC worked great. Would go back, but only if suites are available. Older part of hotel is very rundown and must be hard to clean.

Room Tip: Only book newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We blocked rooms at the Sunday House for our daughter's wedding in October of 2013. Judy, the manager of the Sunday House, went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. The rooms were spacious and clean. Judy even provided flowers and small gifts for all of our guests. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked 5 rooms for a reunion of a couples club formed in 1980's.Judy put us together in newly remodeled rooms.They gave us a hospitality suite between 2 of the room which we loved.Breakfast room was being redone but we were able to go to the Hampton Inn next door. The hotel has the charm I remembered from a 1983 stop but is much improved with great pool and a fire pit. It is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants a real plus. Room rates were good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was rather disappointed. We paid $130. + taxes and it was not worth the rate. The mattress was lumpy. The temperature outside was in the upper 70's and our room did not cool off until after midnight sometime. The room had been recently renovated, but many items had not been screwed down correctly. The rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vernia, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

First time to stay here and I couldn't have been any happier! Had a double room that had just been renovated! Clean, new furnishings and they even left a little welcome back of candy! Lots of little personal touches! Breakfast was good, pool was large and fun. Enjoyed the fire circle at night too!!! Will definiately stay here anytime we come to Fredericksburg again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunday House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.