We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a little peace & quiet in Fredericksburg close to town..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corner Cottage B&B
Save
You added Corner Cottage B&B to your Saves list
305 South Orange St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 84 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pearland, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a little peace & quiet in Fredericksburg close to town..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

To celebrate my 50th birthday, my closest friend and I planned a long weekend trip to Fredericksburg to shop and visit some of the nearby wineries. We stayed in the Blue Moon Hideaway which takes up the entire 2nd floor of the main house and includes a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave; a family room with a comfy pull-out bed, tv, lots of movies to choose from and even popcorn; a roomy bathroom with jacuzzi tub, blowdryer and full length vanity mirror and a good-sized bedroom with a closet and fireplace. This particular suite is perfect for a small group of women because of the two beds and the long counter space with mirror allowing multiple ladies to get ready at the same time. It might not be suitable for a couple if the man doesn't care for baths since there is no shower but the suite is very roomy and comfortable. The main porch of the B&B has rocking chairs and a porch swing where you can enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail and includes a table where you could play dominoes or cards. And the owner, Denis, is such a nice person. Each morning, he offered a short blessing before a great breakfast at 9 am including fresh fruit, bacon, eggs or egg casserole, biscuits (which were to die for!) or scones and juice or coffee. And although we hated to call on him, we had to call Denis one evening to ask where the sheets were for the pull-out bed because neither of us felt very well due to the heat and we each wanted our own bed. Denis was so responsive, he drove 20 minutes to town to bring us sheets! I have stayed in many B&B's and would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The Blue Moon Hideaway is perfect for a girls weekend and for couples, too, so long as he doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities in the Blue Moon Hideaway! Don't feel bad about calling, the sheets for the pullout should have been there anyway! We want all our guests to be 100% satisfied with their Corner Cottage experience. While there is no shower in Blue Moon, there is a pitcher for rinsing hair (just like Grandma used to do!). Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We wanted to spend a few days in Fredericksburg. We've been to Fredericksburg several times and returned, for the 2nd time, to the Corner Cottage. The reason being that the "Cottage" is beautiful...its in a very nice neighborhood and run by a great host Denis O'Leary who went out of his way to make our stay the best it could be.
We stayed in Twiggly's Treehouse which had a lot of charm.
We'll be back to Fredericksburg possibly this Christmas and, of course, will be staying at the "Corner Cottage.
Bruce and Mart Johns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Fredericksburg is wonderful at Christmas. Main Street and Marketplatz are beautifully decorated. There's even an outdoor ice skating rink set up! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a trip of a lifetime from England we were travelling around Texas and chose to stay at the Corner Cottage for two nights. We stayed in the Blue Moon Hideaway – with hindsight we would have stayed longer but we had commitments to meet friends in San Antonio.

Of all the places we stayed, this was by far the nicest and most relaxing place we stayed. The Blue Moon Hideaway wasn’t just a room, it was the whole top floor of the cottage with separate bedroom, kitchen & lounge area and has a wonderful ambience of calmness . We loved the bathroom with the huge tub …and shower jug! It was very relaxing at the end of each day. The home made breakfast was delicious and it was delightful to chat with Denis and our fellow guests at the start of each day.

As the location is just two blocks from the town centre, it’s very quiet but convenient for walking around Fredericksburg.

If you’re looking to get away from today’s modern, busy and fast pace of life then Corner Cottage could be just what you’re looking for.

Mike & Sue

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and chatting at breakfast. I know Fredericksburg is a long way from home, but hopefully you'll make it back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and would warmly recommend. However, I don't think we'd stay again as there were a couple of things that weren't to our personal taste – though it's all a matter of individual taste so these comments aren't meant as a criticism. Breakfast is at 9am, so if you want to get up and going before then it'd be wise to find out if this is possible. Also, breakfast is proceeded by grace which not everyone feels comfortable with. Our room didn't have a shower, though there was an exceptionally luxurious bath! If having a shower attachment for hair-washing is important to you, see whether they have a room that has this. The owner is delightful! Corner Cottage is brilliantly located for exploring Fredricksburg. Breakfast is yummy and everyone chats as they eat. We met a lovely young couple there who were enjoying a surprise birthday break and they shared great traveller tips, and I am sure this is typical of a stay at Corner Cottage/ Enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. At the Corner Cottage our unofficial motto is "Every day is a memory." Indeed, every day is a gift, an opportunity. Our hope is that the Corner Cottage is a place where guests can slow down, live intentionally, and enjoy the things we often don't make time for (soaking in the jacuzzi tubs, relaxing in the front porch rocking chairs, walking Main Street, bicycling through town, enjoying the scenery of the Texas Hill Country, etc). Grace before meals is not meant to be preachy; it is simply part of who we are and why we do what we do.

In a day when many B&B have resorted to a basket of muffins or a coupon at the local bakery, we still cook a delicious hot breakfast every morning. Less flexible timewise, but an intentional part of the traditional B&B experience.

Thanks again for choosing The Corner Cottage and yes, the Twiggly's Treehouse suite does have a handheld shower in the jacuzzi tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The b&b is full of charm and character. The price was the best we found for the amenities. This was our first b&b experience. We stayed in twigglys treehouse. To be honest, the decor was a little creepy, but if you can look beyond the giant stuffed bear, its quite cozy. It feels like a private cabin. The breakfast was delicious! We are in our late 20s. I feel that this is important to mention to potential guests, as b&bs seem to be aimed towards older generations. If you are considering this place, but, like us, were a little apprehensive, don't be. It was a great experience. We would recommend giving it a shot. It's beats the heck out of a best western!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Twiggly's Tree House is certainly a unique suite. Inspired by the children's book Miss Twiggly's Tree, the two-level suite is decorated with bears and other items from the story. The upstairs bedroom definitely feels like a treehouse now that spring has arrived. Most treehouses can't boast about their jacuzzi tub with room for two! It is a pleasure to host guests of all ages from newlyweds to couples celebrating 50+ years of marriage. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorfen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I looked for a B&B for one night but after moving in my room I wanted to stay for a week.
Corner Cottage is a perfect place for folks looking for a romantic, quiet, tidy and well kept place.
I stayed in the Twiggley's Tree House which is a spaceous appartment with a large whirl pool in the bathroom.
Denis prepared a wonderful homemade breakfeast with eggs, bacon, peach juice, fruits and my favorite, french toast with pecan nut ....delicios.
I was travelling 4 weeks through Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Utah, New Mexico and this was the best place I've been.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. It is a true joy to host guests here at the Corner Cottage whether they are from across the state or across the globe. Looking forward to more guests from Hamburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time this past weekend. I had actually planned this trip as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. Denis was so helpful through the planning process and went above and beyond to make this such a special birthday weekend.
I was unable to make a cake for my boyfriend's birthday so I called Denis a week prior to our arrival, to see if he could recommend a local baker in town to help me out. Denis coordinated the delivery of the cake with the baker and then decorated the rooms with birthday balloons for us. I was so pleased with the service and hospitality.

Breakfast was delicious every morning!
We had a wonderful weekend and will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are committed to doing whatever we can to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. Glad to help make the birthday weekend special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corner Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Cottage B&B

Address: 305 South Orange St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Cottage Bed and Breakfast was featured twice in Country Decorating Ideas Magazine. This traditional bed and breakfast, near the heart of downtown Fredericksburg, is a perfect hideaway to recapture romance. Relax with a beverage under the old pecan trees or enjoy the swing on the front porch. Come and visit a time where the clock loses importance, and where everyday is a memory. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.