We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill Country B&B at it's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
101 E. Hackberry St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Missouri City
1 review
“Hill Country B&B at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Great B&B very near the main street in Fredericksburg. Lovely home with beautiful bedrooms. Lots of space in the common areas to read, watch TV or visit with the other guests. Lovely garden and water pond to enjoy while sipping coffee in the morning or enjoying wine in the evening. Greeted with brownies or cookies in the afternoon and complimentary wines each evening. This was a very nice touch. The breakfast was gourmet, Claude is a excellent chef.

Highly recommend the Magnolia House!!!!!!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
344
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

The best B&B in Fredericksburg! Guests are pampered beyond belief! We walked in, end of a hot day, and there were homemade cookies waiting for us, cold drinks in the frig, and wine was waiting. Our room was fully stocked with everything you'd want in a nice hotel, including beautiful robes in the closet. The B&B was spotless. Guests have the whole house to enjoy. The breakfasts rank as "fine dining" and are the best we've had anywhere. This is a first class operation and you won't be disappointed. Very quiet neighborhood away from the main drag, which has a lot of traffic.

  • Liked — Quiet setting, very clean, great breakfasts.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Wonderful house: quaint, quiet, and located in one of the most beautiful towns in America. The hosts were nothing short of polite and helpful; the food was nothing short of delicious. My wife and I will definitely return for a second visit!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Our stay at the Magnolia House was way more than we had anticipated. Everything was wonderful.....the room, the amenities, the host, and breakfast! Attention to the little things sets this B&B apart from other B&Bs. MH sets the standard. We will definitely return again.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

In a sentence we found Magnolia House to be a highly professionally managed B&B without ever compromising the warm, personal touch. What more could a traveler ask for?
In order to get a real feel for the area and experiece a variety of neighborhoods among a diverse group of people while visiting Fredericksburg, Magnolia House was the third in a string of B&Bs my husband and I had arranged to stay at. Our time there was most pleasant and enjoyable. Here's a few thoughts that stand out most:
1. The home was much more inviting and warm than it initially appeared from a photograph or even curbside glance.
2. I loved our porch and private entrance. We enjoyed watching the fireflies in the evening.
3. Meal time with other couples from all over was my favorite part of the stay. Lots of laughter and fellowship over a declicious breakfast. By the time we all left it felt almost like family.
4. Hosts Claude and Lisa went above and beyond the call of duty in preparing my husband a pot of coffee in the late evening (his habit at home) and delivering it to our bedroom with a smile.
5. I appreciated that they offered a complimentary First Aid cabinet with many personal hygiene items and health aids we might have overlooked packing.
6. Even with a full house in relatively small quarters, I was impressed with how quiet the whole house was after dark. Hosts and guests all were respectful of each other's need for privacy and rest which is what we were primarily there for.
I would definitely recommend this home to others, as we hope to return there ourselves in the near future.

  • Liked — Meeting other travelers
  • Disliked — Close quarters kept us quieter than usual even in standard conversations.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My wife and I have stayed in a dozen or so B&Bs in the US. and U.K. and the Magnolia Guest House rates at the top of the list. The Magnolia Suite was larger than we're accustomed to at a B&B and was clean and very comfortable. Claude and Lisa make you feel at home, serve a great breakfast and provide amenities such as a drinks fridge and snacks in the common area and a library of DVDs for use in your room's player.

We hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — We loved the large comfortable room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

Very comfortable suite with all you would need including hairdryer, wine and bottled water in the room. Breakfast was delicious and fun with the other guests. Would recommend and stay there again. Plenty to do in Fredricksburg.

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — wish it was wealkiong distance to main street
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 101 E. Hackberry St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg
Magnolia House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.