We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Home away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Garten Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Das Garten Haus
Save
You added Das Garten Haus to your Saves list
604 S Washington, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Argyle, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great Home away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just a lovely friendly place to stay, It really felt like a home away from home rather than a hotel or motel. Simple touches around the suite added to the enjoyment, tastefully decorated as well. The meals were lovely and suited us very well.
The only negative aspect I would say especially for older people would be the walk to the main tourist shopping area.
We certainly appreciated all the information about the area that our hostess provided and made our stay so much better,

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We appreciate the review and pictures! The Garden Suite was originally built as a small efficiency apartment, so it is very cozy! Happy Thanksgiving Weekend!
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    50
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
224
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an early Thanksgiving week getaway! This was our first trip to Fredericksburg. To start it off right, several days before arriving, our hosts emailed us with a travel tip advising us of possible increased traffic due to a special event in Austin; just so we could change our route if necessary! Our arrival was efficient and friendly, and our hosts were more than willing to give us pointers for a wide variety of attractions and restaurants! The room (Garden suite) was a great two-room spot, comfortable queen bed, and WOW microfiber bed linens! The hosts do a great job keeping the quaint grounds beautiful and great for relaxing outside on a late Fall day! Breakfasts in the mornings were superb, and not the typical fruit and pastry only offering! (Yes, actual breakfast served at a B&B!) Hot egg dishes, fruit parfaits, etc. served on china with silver and nice linens!

Just a great all around experience!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
It is nice to use all that china, silver, and linens we've collected or inherited through the years. Our kids's generation is not much for fancy dishes, so it's nice to use it now and not just look at it. A B&B is perfect for that! Thanks for the review and Happy Holidays!
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We experienced a delightful stay at Das Garten Haus in May so were certain we would return during the Food and WIne Festival. After raving about the hospitality of Lynn and Kevin friends joined us for the weekend as well. It is truly a home away from home where we will return for yet another weekend next year. Thanks, friends!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It''s always great when old friends return with new friends! Thank you for choosing to return and I hope we always live up to your expectations!
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at Das Garten Haus with my husband and a friend in the two-bedroom suite upstairs, and we had a great stay! Lynn was super welcoming when we arrived late in the evening, the beds were super comfortable, and breakfast was far and away the best I've had in a b&b. The decor of the room we stayed in was very traditional, fitting perfectly with the vibe of Fredericksburg. It's located about a half mile off Main Street, and it's an easy walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orléans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great time at the Garten Haus, the suite upstairs was huge and I wish we could spend more time to take advantage of the living room and kitchen.
The price was a little bit too much according to us, and for a suite accommodating 4 persons, the price should include 3 or 4 guests.
Breakfast was amazing, do not skip it !!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! We do our best to research pricing in our area and keep our prices comparable with other inns of the same type. I hope that you will visit our city again in the future!
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was, from what we can remember, our first experience with a B&B and we enjoyed the two nights with friends. We had a nice apartment upstairs and the hosts were friendly (and good hosts) and we had two fine breakfasts in their home. A very good time.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I hope that now that you've stayed at a B&B you'll consider it again - it's a better way to stay! We have many fine establishments here in Fredericksburg, but hope you'll consider a return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hosts at Das Garten Haus are warm, hospitable and wonderful to visit with. Within the day of booking our reservation our host had already sent me a list of restaurant recommendations for the area and communicated with me about recommended things to do prior to our stay.

The accommodations are lovely- the house and grounds are beautiful- with gardens and even a chicken coop!

Breakfast certainly lived up to expectations- delicious and inventive.
We left the breakfast table every morning stuffed :)

  • Liked — Warm, cozy atmosphere, great breakfast and great hosts
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn0322, Owner at Das Garten Haus, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
You can tell we're foodies because that restaurant list goes out to our guests on busy weekends pretty quickly. Of course we do our research! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Garten Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Garten Haus

Address: 604 S Washington, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Garten Haus is a 5 suite property with on-site owners located just one half mile from downtown. A full breakfast is included everyday in the Bed and Breakfast, and a continental breakfast is provided in the adjacent Guesthouse. Lynn and Kevin are available for information, directions, reservations and any help you need navigating beautiful Fredericksburg, Texas! Our two new suites in the Guesthouse are in our remodeled 1921 bungalow and sleep from 2-7 guests - modern conveniences, beautiful rooms, privacy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Garten Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.