We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended Bed and Breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Place In Time B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Place In Time B&B
Save
You added A Place In Time B&B to your Saves list
614 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended Bed and Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

First time and will go back!! Period furniture, soft and luxurious bedding (I slept longer than I ever do at home), bountiful and delicious breakfasts. Sitting in the sun room and on the porch takes you back in the time, and gives you time to read, relax, listen and watch the birds. Friendly and informative staff -- you'll want to give this one a try!!!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs for more room and the sun room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
69
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

After getting relocated to this B&B after our original reservation with another B&B could not be honored (due to frozen pipes), we were actually quite pleased with what seemed like an upgrade! We were lucky enough to stay in the 'Blue Room' which was rather spacious. The room was more like a two room suite...one room for the bedroom, the other for the huge bathroom, a porch area with private entrance, and came complete with a CD player, TV & DVD player, small refrigerator, and microwave (and the sheets were ever so luxurious!). The old house clearly receives a lot of TLC and maintenance...impeccable! The only downside I could think of was the traffic noise which is a bit loud at night because this is a very quiet town. The manager on staff was very helpful and attentive...pointed out many places to visit, and gave us detailed directions on all of it! The common area was very inviting and included perks such as a DVD collection, board games, magazines, an ice maker, and continually available snacks and drinks. Breakfasts in the morning were plentiful and made with local ingredients...a perfect way to start the day! Enchanted Rock State Natural Park was close and stunning. Closer to town, there were many places to eat, shop, and catch some live music. One of my favorite romantic mini-getaways! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of the home and it's owners. The Blue room is very nicely done and spacious and had all the necessary items for a very comfortable visit. The bedding and sheets were especially comforting to sleep. Location is literally five minutes from the mainstreet town and shopping district. Also enjoyed learning about the history of the home from Jon and the historical books provided. Breakfasts food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our first trip to Texas and we spent two nights with Jon and Mary Kaye at A Place In Time. We had the Garey Room which was comfortable and nicely furnished. There was a small TV, Frig, white noise if you needed it, and a private entrance. Jon was helpful in making sure we saw the sites of real Texas including a great barbecue (Coopers) in Llano. He told us about the Cap Gun Museum (who would have known). Jon is a great cheg and the breakfasts were terrific. The Inn is nicely decorated and everything you could ask for from DVDs, books, local pamphlets, coffee, tea, freshly baked cookies are at your fingertips. Thanks Jon and Mary Kaye for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The breakfast was wonderful and the sheets on the bed were a special treat. Kudos!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed in the Blue Room here for two weekday nights, and had a pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and had a large dressing area/bathroom. This house is early 20th century, and well furnished. It's located on a busy highway, but sits well off the road, so you don't get much road noise. It should be noted that this place is a good walk from downtown---probably 15 minutes or so. There is ample parking on site. The breakfasts are excellent, served in a beautiful dining room, and the proprietor is service-orianted and helpful with what to see, where to eat, etc. The only issue we had is that the TV in our room was quite small, and positioned pretty far away from the bed, so it's difficult to see the picture if you're in bed. Investing in a flat screen TV would be a good idea.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbellman1830
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at A Place in Time for our first anniversary and truly enjoyed the relaxed and cozy atmosphere fostered by John and Mary Kate. We got great dinner advice and were able to properly relax in the Blue Room, where we stayed. Fredericksburg is a charming small town, just a short drive from Austin. We would certainly recommend this BnB to anyone looking for a short respite from the hectic pace.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Place In Time B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place In Time B&B

Address: 614 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful wildflowers will welcome you to the Hill Country. Renew, Refresh and Revitalize in this romantic 1914 Historic Traditional Bed & Breakfast. Just a few blocks from Main Street, A Place In Time is "a hill country dream." A friendly wrap-a-round porch with rockers and front yard furniture invite family gatherings, anniversaries, girls' weekends and business team building. Wireless internet, ceiling fans, Luxury Comphy brand sheets, homemade cookies, full gourmet breakfasts on weekends and holidays are included. This Fredericksburg Texas Historical Society Landmark can be part of your special memories. Come capture your own! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Place In Time B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.