We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evacuation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Barons Creek

Save Saved
You added Inn on Barons Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Barons Creek
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   308 South Washington Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Fredericksburg
La Porte, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Evacuation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We needed to evacuate for Hurricane Ike. I contacted this property three hours before we left. The gentleman on the phone placing the reservation was very friendly, and informative. It ended up taking several more hours to arrive than we anticipated, but did not receive any penalties. Hotel room was very clean, bed was very comfortable. Entire property was spotless, and complimentary breakfast always offered more than enough. Overall wonderful experience. This trip has made it easy for me to determine where to stay the next time I plan a trip to Fredericksburg!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    108
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
97
178
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a great place to stay when on a weekend to visit the wine trails. We are still a little confused as to why the Creekside rooms are not suitable for children.

We stayed three nights in the creekside while our older kids stayed in the main hotel. The charm of the creek and all the outside rocking chairs made a nice place to just sit with a glass of wine at the end of a long day of traveling. The kids enjoyed the pool as we enjoyed the lazy evenings outside. The Jacuzzi tub in the king suite is a great way to end out a day.

I can't say I recommend the breakfast fare for the digestively challenged. But there is fruit and cereal.

Our stay was painless and without any problems with the exception of a midnight visitor, who it seems enjoyed a few too much of the area wine and then forgot which door was hers.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

So this review goes back to a stay in February. We did the Texas Wine trail all day on a Saturday then stayed at the Inn that night. We just wanted a clean, nice place to stay that was convenient and we received exactly that. The room was spacious and clean.

If you're going to Fredericksburg, you shouldn't spend your stay in the room anyway. If you want quaint - this isn't the place. It's reminds me of a Hilton Garden or Marriott Courtyard.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This place has potential, but it hasn't been realized yet. It is located in an interesting spot and the building is attractive. Although it has been open for three years, the lobby has the appearance that it is not quite finished. The rooms are very nice; however, the air conditioning quit working in our room overnight. When I reported it the next morning, not accommodation was for the inconvenience. The breakfast was overated. With the smoothing out of a few rough edges, this could be a very nice place in a very nice community.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — heating and air conditoning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We recently stayed two nights at the Inn on Baron's Creek for our anniversary, and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is just off Main Street, but is within walking distance. The suites are generously sized and comfortable. The hotel's "backyard" features a pool, jacuzzi, and various benches and tables that go down the slope to Baron's Creek. It is a nice spot to relax and unwind. The complimentary breakfast bar was above and beyond what we expected and included waffles, eggs, sausage, and biscuits. The bathrooms had Bath & Body Works bath products and were very clean. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed at the Inn on Baron's Creek for a sweet weekend tour of Fredricksburg. Its new with a friendly & professional staff. I felt comfortable as soon as we walked in.

The rooms in the main (3-story building) are set up with traditional hotel furnishings like a Marriott, etc. If you want a "bed & breakfast" type room then ask them for their creekside suites which are in a seperate building.

We stayed in the king suite (located in the main building) and sure was a bit narrow, but its split into the bedroom and seperate "living room" area, which was nice. Just as pictured on their website. FYI, their web site has virtual tours.

The bathroom was spacious, as bright and new as everything else with a heat/vent/fan option which was nice so you're not walking out of the shower into a cold room.

Some rooms have jacuzi tubs, but we didn't request for one. If you want one I think the suites along the creek are equiped with them. Or ask the reservations clerk for more info.

As the other posts mentioned, this hotel is located off main street so you can walk to just about everywhere.

We paid approx $150/night - this was more than reasonable considering its such a nice and new hotel, plus the pool, full breakfast, comfy bed with a qiuet night's sleep, plus the location. highly recommend.

enjoy your trip...

  • Liked — Its a new facility, reasonably priced, walking distance to main street
  • Disliked — Normally I'm a pessimist, but I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel... (shazaam)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

We paid $156 per night for an experience worthy of a $75 per night hotel.

Pros: facilities clean & new, staff was friendly

Cons: toilet didn't work, suite was long but cramped & narrow, heated pool didn't work, staff not knowledgeable about a restaurant only 2 blocks away, outdoor setting along creek is not scenic, breakfast was only average at best, and towels were not provided beside the pool, which made for a cold walk back inside.

We'll definitely try somewhere else if we go to Fredericksburg again.

  • Liked — It was clean and new
  • Disliked — The toilet didn't work, etc.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Barons Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Barons Creek

Address: 308 South Washington Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#1 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Barons Creek 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Inn on Barons Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Barons Creek Hotel Fredericksburg
Hotel On Barons Creek
On Barons Creek Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Barons Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.