We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farm Haus Bistro

Farm Haus Bistro
405 Whitney St, Fredericksburg, TX
+1 830-997-8615
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at the Herb Farm. Our server was extremely polite and professional, and he really set the tone. Taylor, the executive chef, came out and visited with us and was so gracious and friendly. The lamb was delicious. This place was wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    25
    9
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Third visit disappointed us a bit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

On our two previous visits we really enjoyed our lunch here. This time it was not consistent. The tomato basil soup had too many other spices that overwhelmed the basil. The soup was good, but not great. One friend had the quiche of the day and said it was delicious. The other friend and I had the ham with warm brie on a croissant. The flavor of the sandwich was delicious. The croissant was flat and chewy. We had expected a fluffy and crisp croissant, so that was a disappointment. We all had lemon pie for dessert and that was excellent.

When we asked for the checks, we were told (a little abruptly) that they do not do separate checks. Huh? We have not been anywhere else in the area that refused this request. They said they would divide it by three. That was unacceptable because we all had different drinks and our bills were NOT the same. We all have different financial circumstances and order based on what we can afford.

The kicker was that the Bistro does not have a computer, and it is too much trouble for the servers to do separate checks. With the prices they charge and the volume of business they do, certainly they should be able to afford a computer to please guests and servers.

I doubt I will go back until this policy changes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food! Best in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on our anniversary. We are vegetarians and like to eat healthy food. In Fredericksburg and the surrounding area, where fried meats and other cholesterol-laden foods reign supreme, the Farm Haus Bistro is a true gem.

The setting is gorgeous. Romantic, quiet, peaceful. I had the Herb Farm Salad, and my husband had the Grilled Vegetable Spinach Wraps. We had freshly baked bread on the side, and I also enjoyed their Harvest Herb Tea (hibiscus, lemongrass, and raspberry leaves). Every aspect of this meal was divine.

After lunch, we enjoyed a stroll through the property. Everyone we met who worked at the farm was very pleasant and struck up a conversation with us. If we ever return to the area, we will definitely eat here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
“Great place for dinner in Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner here, and we were both impressed with the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. My wife had the grilled shrimp, which she found delightful. I ordered the french onion soup, along with the osso bucco. The soup was good, but not outstanding. The osso bucco, however, was one of the best entrees I've ever had; the meat was incredibly tender, cooked to perfection, and the veggies provided a nice counterpoint.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant to our friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Light lunch in a garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband brought me to this unique, delightful place away from the busy downtown area for lunch. We ordered the jumbo shrimp and clams entrée. While the sauce was very tasty, the plate was piled with corkscrew noodles and had only three shrimp and about six clam shells on top of that (with very little of a clam inside two of those.) It was a bit pricey since the salad was separate. The house salad was refreshing with a lime zest dressing on greens. The service was excellent and it was pleasantly quiet and serene, sitting in a dining room full of windows with gardens all around. My husband decided it was a "ladies type place," which was evident by the fact he was the only man in there for awhile! He left hungry. I left wiser for the experience...probably won't return because it just was not a satisfying meal overall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Haus Bistro also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Farm Haus Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm Haus Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.