We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend at the Cotton Gin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Gin Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotton Gin Village
Save
You added Cotton Gin Village to your Saves list
2805 South Highway 16, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend at the Cotton Gin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We had a relaxing weekend at the Cotton Gin. The cabins were very nice. The bathroom was a bit small, but I guess that is what to expect in a log cabin. The setup was very nice, and it looks like every cabin would be a great place to stay. The restaurant, the cabins and the pond fit together nicely.

We had heard that the food was outstanding, but we thought it was good but not great. The morning pastries that were left in your room were great. Overall a nice and relaxing trip.

  • Liked — Nice setup and the cabins were nice.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed in the Llano and Pedernales cabins for three nights in December. In general we enjoyed the Cotton Gin a lot. The cabins were lovely, and although the decor was rustic, the amenities were modern. The compound was very pretty, if a little noisy because of the highway. Breakfast was good (pastries delivered every evening), and service was efficient and discreet. There were some potential problems worth mentioning, however.

First, there was nowhere to hang clothes. There were small chests of drawers, but no closet or wardrobe in either cabin. There were large hooks in the walls, though, so if you can, take some plastic hangers with you so you can hang things up that way. Otherwise, you're living out of your suitcase, and in the Pedernales cabin there wasn't a good place to put a large case.

Second, the beds were really high off the ground, meaning you had to be quite agile to get into them. Not a problem for me, but my parents had quite a struggle with theirs, and a former guest who had signed the visitor book reported similar issues. Same problem with the big bathtub in the Llano cabin -- difficult to get into if you weren't nimble.

Last, the bath, toilet, and washstand were all right in the bedroom, which was OK for the bath, but having the toilet separated from the rest of the room by only a curtain was a little strange! If you like your privacy in this regard, I wouldn't recommend the Cotton Gin. And I certainly wouldn't recommend having any additional people stay in the living room unless you were all extremely open minded.

Summary -- great for couples for a short break, not so great for longer stays or for people with mobility problems.

  • Liked — Charming decor
  • Disliked — Long way out of town
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

My husband and I took a Hill Country Road trip...working out of Fredericksburg each day. It was always great to come home to our little cabin, sit on the porch, sit by the gardens or build a fire in our fireplace. Dinners at the restaurant were outstanding but we saved room for dessert....Somemores we made back in our cabin. The Cotton Gin thought of everything....somemore makings, including something to roast the marshmallows on; popcorn; lots of wood for building a fire and fresh fruit and orange juice. When I left a note asking for different tea the next day...I got it. Great people and great place. We can't wait to return...this time with all our grown kids.

  • Liked — Staying in an 1850's log cabin with fireplace
  • Tips/Secrets — It is easy to get locked out of cabin...beware!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

Stayed here for our honeymoon 3 years ago, went back on our first anniversary to eat at the restaurant. I am already planning to go back for our anniversary next year and stay in the Guadalupe Cabin again. The lodging was GREAT...the cabin clean, comfortable and quiet and the jacuzzi tub was AWESOME! The breakfast was brought in each day and was delicious. The lunch buffet in the restaurant was very good and also a good value. When we went back a year later and had dinner, my husband said it was the best steak he ever had. Since that time, we have recommended the restaurant to several people who have gone and loved it as well.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

The Cotton Gin Restaurant & Lodge was fantastic! The cabin, service, restaurant,and overall accommodations were outstanding. It will be the only place I stay the next time I am visiting Fredericksburg!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We ate in the Cotton Gin over the Easter weekend. After reading the reviews my expectations were not high. The staff were friendly enough but the quality of the food was no better than average. We had much better for the same price elsewhere in Fredericksburg.

We didn't stay but the accomodation and the setting looked good.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

We did not stay here - but have eaten at the restaurant the past
3 summers. The trout is to die for + all of the other entrees. my husband
likes their chicken fried pork steak. my husband is handicap
and did look at the cabin that would accommodate him .. so probably
the next time in f-burg would keep in mind.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Gin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Gin Village

Address: 2805 South Highway 16, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More Than a Fredericksburg TX Bed and BreakfastThe moment you step inside the ivy-covered walls of the Cotton Gin Village in historic Fredericksburg Texas, you’ll be transported to another world. Koi ponds with waterfalls. Lush landscaping. Romantically outfitted rustic cabins. And unparalleled Texas Hill Country dining in the highly acclaimed Cabernet Grill-Texas Wine Country Restaurant. It will be an experience you won’t soon forget. Come on in and make yourself at home at one of Fredericksburg's most acclaimed B&Bs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Gin Village Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Gin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.