We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Gin Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotton Gin Village
Save
You added Cotton Gin Village to your Saves list
2805 South Highway 16, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Some reviews were not optimum, but then again, you should not solely make your decisions on these reviews especially the negative ones. This place is right next to the best restaurant in town, the Cabernet. A very short walk gets you to the restaurant. You can have that bottle of wine at dinner and not worry about driving. All you have to do is stumble back to the room, Our cabin had two rooms which was nice so I had someplace to go, while my wife slept in. It had a great fireplace which we used both nights that we were there. There was plenty of wood available, and it was replenished for the next night. There was a small frig which was stocked with milk, juice, and water. Pastries, cereal, and coffee was available, which is all that we would want. We stayed in November and it was quite cool. They had an outside area which was very nice to have cocktails and a fire pit,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I went to Fredericksburg for our anniversary. We did not want a hotel or motel as we wanted something more TX and local. This cabin was perfect for us. It had a main room with a small kitchen and a bedroom with a small bathroom. For 2 days this was a wonderful getaway. The cabin was ideally located on the property as if was centered in the middle away from the busy streets. The bed was soft and we napped twice and slept long hours into the morning. The fireplace is nice to build fires which they give you the firewood to burn. It has AC for the summer months so do not worry.

People on here are complaining about the breakfast. True, it is pastries and muffins only, but we are not about staying in the cabin all day. We wanted to get up and go see things. A pastry then go is just what you need. There is also a Krureg, milk, juice, popcorn, and things to roast smores. If you need a place that serves you a hearty breakfast then do not go here.

Also, there are complaints that it is not centrally located. Well, everything in Fredericksburg requires a car so a 10 minute drive to main street is not too difficult. You will not be walking or biking anywhere so buck it up. Also, being out of town makes for a quieter experience.

There is a TV and DVD player but the point of the cabin is to get away and unplug. We never turned it on. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants peace and quiet. Also, it is 20 feet from the best restaurant in Fredericksburg. It's not too bad to get up from a siesta after hustle and bustle all day at wineries and shopping to walk 20 feet to dinner!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

"The Big House" at Cotton Gin Village was absolutely perfect for our large family getaway last weekend. Delicious pastries delivered daily, granola and plenty of coffee, juice and bottled water were enjoyed each morning on one of the many porch swings or rockers. The house was very "livable" so that our large group (12 adults) never felt crowded. The staff was extremely accommodating with plenty of fresh towels and linens. Covered parking was ample and convenient to the "Big House". The first night we were there we realized a couple of the porch lights weren't working....not a big deal except they were the ones that should have illuminated the horseshoe pit and the "young" people had challenged the rest of us!! No problem...one call and the gracious & accommodating Innkeeper was there to rig up some temporary lighting for us!!! Dining at the Cabernet Grill (just steps away but feels completely removed from the House) was as excellent as it has always been when we've visited Fredericksburg. I can't say enough positive things about our weekend.....Thank you Cotton Gin Village for a memorable weekend with our family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We and two other couples stayed at A Big House for the weekend. There was plenty of room, particularly in the common areas. We enjoyed the fire pit and eating dinner on the west porch (we pushed several of the small tables together to make one big table for us to gather around). The kitchen had everything we needed equipment-wise for the cooking that we did (breakfast one morning, dinner one evening).

The beds themselves were comfortable, although the two upstairs were so high that even the tall men had trouble getting up into them. And those of us short-legged women, well, we nearly had to be hauled up and jump down.

Worse thing about a Big House was that it was a Big very-poorly-constructed House. Several of the electrical outlets were installed upside down. There were light switches that we never did determine what they went to. The couple in the downstairs "master" suite had trouble sleeping because of the creaking floors every time someone walked upstairs or rolled over in bed (and we weren't even doing thing "fun" to make the noise!). My friend in the master suite had really looked forward to relaxing in the jacuzzi but found it pouring out water after she started filling the tub.

The other major complaint was that this was another "B&S" ("bed and snack") rather than a true B&B. The "breakfast" consisted of day-old muffins or pastries from a local bakery left on the counter and milk or juice in the refrigerator and a coffee pot to make the coffee in. We've noticed this seems to be becoming a trend. We never once actually met the owner(s)/innkeeper(s), which makes the whole "B&B" experience not such.

Room Tip: get on the upper level so you can at least sleep through the night - or get earplugs like our friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Based on good reviews we booked to stay here for one night during a trip to Texas. After a hectic few days in Austin and San Antonio it was just what we needed. We arrived on a day that the restaurant was closed and despite initial disappointment a good bottle of local wine and some tasty local tex-mex helped us get over the initial disappointment.

I loved the cabin (we stayed in the Red River North), it was warm, comfortable and had a great atmosphere. The Cotton Gin Village is not inexpensive but is worth it for a special occasion.

The only criticism I would have is that on arrival the main office was closed so we left and went away for a few hours. When we returned it was still closed. We decided to walk around the property and realised our key had been left at the door of the Red River North cabin. It would have been nice to get into the cabin sooner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We found the Pecos cottage to be well equipped and very comfortable. As we are older, some B&B are less than user friendly. Cotton Gin Village is certainly the exception.
The grounds are lovely, we particularly enjoyed the coy fish pond and the pomegranate tree.
So great to have the Cabernet Grill to stroll to.
Breakfast exactly as advertised, pastries, granola, fruit , juices and many tea and coffee choices. While not a hot fresh cooked breakfast, one that can be enjoyed in your pajamas, even on the porch.
We look forward to our next visit here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wanted to surprise my husband for his birthday by bringing him to Fredericksburg for a romantic B&B weekend. We arrived on a Friday afternoon. The grounds are beautiful and the refurbished log homes/cabins are fantastic; very comfortable. The restaurant was closed for our entire stay but that was fine I had no problem finding somewhere else to eat. (the owner also left us a few recommendations) We entered our room and found a table with muffins and fruit. I thought that was a wonderful welcome - snack. We have been to many B&Bs that put out fruit and cookies and sometimes wine/cheese. Turns out that this was breakfast. I was very disappointed. I have never been to a B&B that doesn't serve a warm meal. I really thought that we were in for a gourmet breakfast, since the B&B is attached to a highly rated restaurant. Again, that was OK because there is a place in town "Java Ranch" that serves coffee and breakfast tacos. All in all we had a wonderful peaceful stay. The noise from the road is very minimal.... it did not disturb my sleep one bit. I just wish I would have been aware of the no real breakfast ... my husband is a BIG breakfast guy and was not happy with - muffins. My husband kept informing me that even the Holiday Inn Express serves waffles! Oh well - live and learn. We were also in need of ice for our drinks.... the ice machine was broken with a sign that says to get ice from the restaurant - which was CLOSED.
Thank goodness for HEB! I would still recommend the place to anyone.. the atmosphere is great... you just may want to search for a nice place to have breakfast as you enter town.

Room Tip: If you are an extremely light sleeper the Pecos Cabin is one of the closest cabins to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Gin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Gin Village

Address: 2805 South Highway 16, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More Than a Fredericksburg TX Bed and BreakfastThe moment you step inside the ivy-covered walls of the Cotton Gin Village in historic Fredericksburg Texas, you’ll be transported to another world. Koi ponds with waterfalls. Lush landscaping. Romantically outfitted rustic cabins. And unparalleled Texas Hill Country dining in the highly acclaimed Cabernet Grill-Texas Wine Country Restaurant. It will be an experience you won’t soon forget. Come on in and make yourself at home at one of Fredericksburg's most acclaimed B&Bs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Gin Village Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Gin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.