We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otto's German Bistro

Otto's German Bistro
316 East Austin Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830.307.3336
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German, European, Bistro
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carrollton, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Otto's offers outdoor dining and is located behind the Nimitz Museum. The food was wonderful and I would highly recommend the spinach ravioli. The prices were a bit steep but worth it for a special dining experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Found this in Fredericksburg based on reviews and local recommendations - simply amazing! 30 minute wait but gracious service and attentive owners with unforgettable food-updated German with a twist from local ingredients! good portion sizes, good turnaround even on a busy night. Nice mix of locals and visitors - quiet location off Main St.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining and great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Great change from the chain restaurant while passing through a very charming town. The food was nice and service good. Menu was fresh and choices unique, very Euro, coffee and dessert were good. The German flatbread was tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Came here a few times during autumn while working in the area, and it was always a memorable experience. The space is intimate and warm, and it's fun to sidle up to the bar on arrival to check out the fantastic selection of drinks, and get recommendations on what might be a good aperitif with which to kick off the evening. As for the food, a lot of it is locally sourced, it's always fresh, and it's prepared and presented with lots of thought and passion. Standout dishes included venison (the best I've ever had), the pork roulade, and an amazing vegetarian strudel, but everything is delicious. The staff are extremely personable, and the chef is always happy to answer questions about his creations. Can't wait til my next visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So Yummy and Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Loved this place! It was recommended by the person checking us in at our hotel and we are so glad she did. The restaurant was charming and cosy. I love a restaurant whose menu changes every week, I know I'm getting fresh, in season food. The we tried 2 small plates and 1 large plate so we could try a few different things. The duck duo was the star of the meal. It was easily the BEST duck I've ever had!! Service was great, our waitress timed out our different plates perfectly and I liked the wine list. We loved sitting at the bar after dinner and chatting with the chef and bartender. We'll be back when we're in town again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's German Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Otto's German Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto's German Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.