We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Haven

Catfish Haven
816 W Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
+1 830-997-9009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Catfish Haven is a catfish joint, but that's not all we are! We offer steaks, grilled fish, salads, burgers and our New Orlean's style Po-Boys. All our entree's come with our 21-item salad bar and our hot veggie bar, which consists of pinto beans, fried okra, and the veggie of the day. SO, if you leave here hungry, it's your own damn fault!
Hallettsville, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

When in Fredericksburg we always eat here at least once. I prefer the catfish and my husband likes the Chicken Fried Steak. Recently I had a catfoshoyster plate, fried to a crispy brown as per my request. The salad bar and hot veggies (beans, fried okra) are good also. My husband especially likes the tapioca pudding. Kay was the waitress when we were there and she did an exceptional job of keeping our glasses full and all other requests.
For some good food at a reasonable price this is the place to go!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Hope to Ya'll again real soon.

Clay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good fried catfish, good salad bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Enjoyed good service and good food at Catfish Haven on Main Street in Fredericksburg on Memorial Day weekend. The salad bar had lots of options and all I tasted was good, as was the fried catfish. Moderately priced.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see ya'll again real soon.

Clay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our regular Friday night stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we are in town on Fridays, there is no other choice but Catfish Haven! Great fried catfish and sides bar!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see ya'll again real soon.

Clay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great fried catfish and chicken fried steak.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our group of friends (13) decided to give this restaurant a try based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were definitely not disappointed! Everyone who ordered the catfish raved about how good it was and others ordered the chicken fried steak and said it was terrific! As other reviewers have said the salad bar is really good with a nice fresh selection. The atmosphere is rustic, the food is awesome and our waitress was top notch! What more could you ask for? I would highly recommend trying Catfish Haven when in Fredericksburg!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for the great review!!! Hope to ya'll again real soon!

Clay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went here with a group. Although the service was decent, the food was not. My husband and I had the big seafood platter -- all frozen food and over-fried. Everyone at our table had complaints -- overcooked, dry, cold, etc. The salad bar was OK except for the dressings. But for the price (NOT cheap), it was very poor value. We will not eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Everyone had complaints but, yet no one bothered to mention it to management. This is the most frustrating thing in our industry. I would have loved to know about your concerns while you were here, so I would had an opportunity to correct any and all issues. But, NO you have to go online to voice your complaints. Thanks for the chance to improve your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Haven also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.