We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Haven

Catfish Haven
816 W Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
+1 830-997-9009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 113 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Catfish Haven is a catfish joint, but that's not all we are! We offer steaks, grilled fish, salads, burgers and our New Orlean's style Po-Boys. All our entree's come with our 21-item salad bar and our hot veggie bar, which consists of pinto beans, fried okra, and the veggie of the day. SO, if you leave here hungry, it's your own damn fault!
Chappell Hill, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good good!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have passed by Catfish Haven many times and finally decided to stop. In our group we tried the catfish, shrimp, crabcakes and steak fingers. The food was great and plentiful. There is a salad bar which also had pinto beans, fried okra and squash on it. The service was good and the staff was friendly. We will definitely stop at Catfish Haven the next time going through Fredericksburg.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks, Hope to see Ya'll soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Josie/Hill Country Visitor Calendar Girl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The food was excellent, the service was prompt, and the staff was very friendly. It does not get any better as far as restaurants go. Prices are extremely reasonable. All in all a-must-visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot away from the crowded end of Main Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lived in Fbg. for years, never tried Catfish Haven because every time we've eaten catfish in the Hill Country, it has NOT been good. Glad I decided to give it a go. It gets very busy at lunch, so service - though friendly - can be a little slow (the staff seems ample but the crowds are large). Ordered one lunch special - steak bites????- and one small catfish dinner. Catfish was excellent! Fried but not greasy, well seasoned white flaky catfish. The steak bites were very tender sirloin cut into bite size pieces for some strange reason - but seasoned and flat iron grilled and quite tasty. Good salad bar, not spectacular but most items you normally see. Very casual, wood floors and walls, what you'd expect to see in a Catfish Haven. It gets my 5 stars because it was good food, reasonably priced at lunch, and the staff was friendly and as attentive as the crowded restaurant could be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“texas reunion road trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

had the catfish, very good. good salad bar. had family reunion in fredericksberg, tx, and this was our first night out (dinner) for 38 of us. restaurant not fancy, but has very good food. heard no complaints about anyone's dish. very filling.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catfishclay, Owner at Catfish Haven, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Ya'll came on very busy night, glad there were no complaints from your group. Doug came by earlier that day to make reservation and I was little concerned about taking a group that size knowing it was going to a busy night with all the stuff going on in town this weekend. But, when he agreed to come in at 6pm I thought it would work out. Hope to see ya'll again.
Clay Meadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Didn't have the seafood ...but the steak was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to Catfish Haven , but opted out of seafood. One of us had the ribeye steak which was excellent. One had the small portion of the chicken fried steak,which more than filled the plate and was good. I had the small portion of hamburger steak with onions and gravy..which also filled the plate. The salad bar was good and they had a vegetable bar where you could choose between fried okra, pinto beans or green beans. The food was good , the service good and atmosphere was homey. Next time we might try the seafood. Note , they close at 8:00 on Saturday night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Haven also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.