We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Der Lindenbaum Restaurant

Der Lindenbaum Restaurant
312 East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4612
830 997 9126
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place is right down town. I like German food, but found this to be just OK. We did have a group of people and got good service. Kind of old and not particularly spic and span. Not awful either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    116
    50
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy comfort food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had a warm and cozy feeling with a friendly staff. The dining area was small but had a great family atmosphere. The Reuben sandwich was served on marbled rye and stuffed full of meat and cheese. The sauerkraut, the most refreshing I have ever tasted, was served on the side. The meal also came with warm German potato salad and a fresh green salad. It was a good amount of food and priced reasonably. We will definitely add it to our list to visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Der Lindenbaum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is one of the best German food restaurants in Fredericksburg, I had the special of the day, Pork Chop, with a link of German sausage, potato salad, and sauerkraut. This is my favorite stop in this town, the soup was good too

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible Food and Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Der Lindenbaum was recommended from one of the local shopkeepers. What a mistake! We ordered the sauerbraten. It was not sauer, it was sweet and was not appealing. I have spent several years in Germany and know what good sauerbraten tastes like--this was not it. They did not have spatzle! Real German food without spatzle? Unheard of!! The noodles they served with the sauerbraten were cold. We got into a big hassle with the management who insisted we pay for food we would not and did not eat. We didn't pay for it. It was one of the worst dining experiences we have had in many years. I would recommend you look elsewhere if you want real German food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were told this probably was most authentic German food in Fredericksburg. After eating there, we agree. German potato salad just like Gramma's and red cabbage, too. Very good, we are going back today. This alone is a good enough reason to keep Fredericksburg on our itinerary as we travel through Texas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Lindenbaum Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Der Lindenbaum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Lindenbaum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.