We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a place that is away from the hustle and bustle of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hangar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hangar Hotel
Save
You added Hangar Hotel to your Saves list
155 Airport Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cuero, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“For a place that is away from the hustle and bustle of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in September. For a place that is away from the hustle and bustle of automobile traffic this is the place. We had a very relaxing evening and the noise level was zero till the small planes arrived in the morning for breakfast at the retro cafe. The hotel is very clean and the folks are most friendly. If I were going to Fredricksburg to shop I would prefer a hotel in the downtown area. A plus to the Hangar Hotel it is very close to The Cabernet Grille which is one of my favorite places to eat. They have a small cute bar and they had entertainment on the night we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    50
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
132
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After reading the reviews of this gem of a hotel I had to book it for trip through Texas. I am so happy I did and my husband has been singing its praises since we stayed there! The check in was quick and easy, the room was SO NICE!! We just loved the decor and the cleanliness and how comfortable the bed was. The TV was the only thing that could be changed, it was an old tube tv with very few channels. Other than that we loved it here and it is the reason we want to go back to Fredericksburg. My husband purchased their T-shirt and almost bought one of their wool blankets that looked like the old military blankets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is a hidden treasure directly adjacent to a small airstrip. It's a great place to get away from it all and unwind. We were part of a large group and drove in to meet up with some sport pilots flying in for the weekend. What's not to enjoy about a drive in the hill country and when we pulled into the Hangar parking lot we knew we were in for a real treat. The hotel was designed to look like an actual hangar but inside it is tastefully decorated to give that 1940's feeling. Every detail is well done inside and out. From the second you walk into the hotel lobby you are transported back in time. Your mood changes instantly and relaxation starts to set in. Maybe it's the big band music playing softly in the background, the vintage furnishings and photographs, the big comfy leather chairs, the elegant staircase, or the cozy private bar and lounge area (that featured live music the night we arrived). Whatever it is you'll feel it. My favorite aspect of the hotel is the covered viewing deck where we watched the planes come and go during the day, then watched the sun set while having cocktails before dinner, and when we retuned we sat on the deck star gazing while having aperitifs. There is a quaint dinner onsite also in keeping with the vintage look and feel that does a decent breakfast and lunch too. The rooms are spacious, clean and relaxing. The hotel staff should also be commended on their service which was impeccable. I give this hotel my highest recommendation and I can't wait until our next fly in!

Room Tip: You don't have to be a pilot to enjoy staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I will definitely stay here at the next opportunity. What a wonderful, relaxing, nostalgic hotel. If you love history, the 1940s, airports and quiet small hotels, this is the place for you. I wish we could have stayed longer.

My sister, a friend and I arrived late. When my sister went in to register, the clerk said she was worried we hadn't eaten so she gave us cookies. They were wonderful, but even better was the first impression she made with us. We felt very welcomed.

From the outside, the hotel looks like a WWII era Quonset Hut. Upon entering, the reception area looks like a 1940s high quality reception area with lots of wood and clocks showing times in different countries. Off to one side is a lounge with comfortable furniture and a pool table. This looked like a great place to hang out. It was too bad we arrived so late.

Our room was a delight. Everything in it was perfect 1940s down to the bathroom design, the telephone and the lighting. We loved it at the Hangar Hotel. After a totally relaxing night, we had the light breakfast that was provided and took it to the upper outdoor observation deck. We sat in comfy chairs overlooking the runway. It was fun to see planes land so close.

We really enjoyed staying at the Hangar Hotel in Fredericksburg, Texas. One last thing - no kids allowed! I guess that's the reason for the quiet at night! zzzzZZZ Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Awesome hotel. It advertises itself as a step back in time to WWII aviation days. It fits that description well while having enough modern conveniences to be perfectly comfortable. The balcony overlooking the airstrip is perfect for sunsets. LOL, someone called this a back balcony but it's the front balcony for those flying in.

The hotel is paired with a 1940's airstrip diner next door which has very limited hours, so check. I've been to the strip two separate times, for a total of 4 nights, and have yet to catch the diner open! There are no fridges in the rooms, and the A/C might have some trouble cooling a room down if you get there late on a summer day, but no worse than other hotels.

Unfortunately, city (or county) and state tourist fees add $20/night to the bill. It may get booked on weekends by fly-in pilots but is fairly open during the week.

There are rental cars available next door (at the airstrip FBO).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a good little hotel, outside of Fredericksburg. Less than 10 minutes from downtown. Very clean. Nice bathroom. Nice staff. We didn't get a chance to try the diner, but it looked cool.
One reason I liked it is its not a chain. Has its own personality. The airplane/flyers motif is good, and its right by/at the airport. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Location Location Location!
There is a runway running behind the hotel; not the annoying commercial jet kind of runway that ruins a good hotel, but the quaint small-time type that has little prop-plans that only fly during the day (they won't buzz your room while you're sleeping). You can sit out on the back patio and watch the planes take off and land throughout the day. There isn't a security line or a full-body scanner to deal with, so feel free to walk out and get near the airplanes, it's quite an experience to chat with some of the pilots.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Our only complaint and the difference between "Very Good" and "Excellent" was the lack of a coffee maker which is usually a make-it or break-it for me on leisure stays.
Be sure to check out the Officer's Club downstairs; very affordable drinks and live entertainment (piano while we were there). Take a walk through the halls and enjoy the memorabilia.

Usually we stay in B&B's during our trips to Fredericksburg but decided for a hotel because we booked last minute on a holiday weekend. The room was the same price as the Holiday Inn in town, but a much more relaxing experience. That brings up one good final point, this is not a kid-friendly hotel so you can enjoy a truly adult experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hangar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangar Hotel

Address: 155 Airport Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangar Hotel was uniquely designed with an exterior appearance of a WWII hangar of the romantic 1940s. The conference center and diner also reflect the style of the era and offer a great space for hosting events or simply for a weekend get-away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hangar Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hangar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.