We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain but can't rave about it either..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of K-Bob's Steakhouse

K-Bob's Steakhouse
518 East Main St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830-307-3125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 113 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Can't complain but can't rave about it either..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food was ok nothing to write home about. Ordered the chicken fried steak and it was nicely done but the mashed potatoes were watery and not much flavor. My mother had the K-bobs and she thought they were really good.Did not have the salad bar. It did not look that appetizing. I probably would not return unless nothing else was open.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    19
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jones Creek,TX.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Steak--it's what's happening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good food----great salad bar---nice atmosphere---good wait people. A little pricey when you have several grandchildren to feed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Good place to relax and eat a good meal after shopping all day in Fredericksburg. Rolls with butter are great and tea is refreshing. Lunch menu and senior prices are a nice treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Chain Restaurant Mentality Strikes Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Let me start off by saying that we are regular customers of the Fredericksburg K-Bob’s and have most often been very pleased with our dining experience. We have also left good reviews several times in the past. This visit was very different.

1st problem: Our waiter tried to upsell the other couple that was with us by telling them that their Martinis would not taste right unless they ordered doubles. They also are regular customers and know that is not true. They ordered the regular martini that they usually order. Those martinis arrived tasting like they had no liquor in them, so they sent them back. The next ones tasted correct (and they were not doubles). The manager/bartender came out to check to see if the drinks were okay. After that, our waiter seemed to be irritated with us, and was very curt when attending to his duties.

2nd problem: After the way the waiter was treating us, we were leery of ordering food that he would have to deliver, so we decided to choose the salad bar. When the waiter brought the larger salad plates, they were filthy! The plates looked like they had been used, taken to the kitchen and scraped, but not washed, then brought out to us to use for our dinner. They were covered with salad dressing. Our waiter seemed to be bothered by the fact that I asked him for some clean plates, so we headed to the salad bar to use the plates there. The manager/bartender caught us before we got to the salad bar and gave us the larger clean plates.

3rd problem: When my wife was maneuvering around the salad bar, she slipped on a bunch of vegetables that had fallen on the floor and not been cleaned up, and nearly fell. We also informed the manager of that problem, and he instructed the staff for it to be cleaned up immediately. We didn’t feel, however, that it should have had to be pointed out to the management.

4th problem: The chicken and rice soup pot was very low, containing almost nothing but broth. When I commented to a server about it, he said “Okay, but it will take at least twenty minutes to heat up a new pot.” We felt that as long as there were customers, the soup pot should have been replenished, and/or removed.

We realize that July 4th is a holiday and the restaurant was probably operating with partial staff. However, we had dined there this past New Year’s Eve, and everything was wonderful. So we don’t believe the holiday was the problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-Bob's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to K-Bob's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K-Bob's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.