We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choices for salad eaters and meat eaters alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hondo's on Main

Hondo's on Main
312 West Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830-997-1633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choices for salad eaters and meat eaters alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've been here twice and enjoyed it lots both times. First time I got a hamburger salad which was awesome and the second time a goat cheese apple salad with a side of mahi mahi filet. My partner has gotten burgers both times and loves them. Very satisfiying! The drinks were also awesome-not watered down. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    143
    52
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I like Hondo's and the band they had. My biggest complaint is that the room where the band is located is very small and does not provide ample seating. You either stand by the door and dodge the door all night or wait until someone leaves to grab their chairs. One couple who came in to dance (after the four of us had finally snagged two chairs and a table) asked us if they could lay their coats and drinks on the table every time they wanted to dance. Which wasn't bad as we got free drinks out of it. But I am sure they would not have been put into that position if there had been more chairs. It wasn't like it was a holiday, afterall it was on a Friday night the first week-end in Feb. 2014.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good music while you eat!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food was good, the beer and margaritas cold and the music was great. Nice place to go and have a drink after traveling through the Texas Hill Country.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Food Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We tried getting in this place on a Saturday night… No luck! The place was jammed with a 1-2 hour wait… One hour to order our food at the bar and probably another 30-45 minutes to find a seat. They had a live band, so it seemed to be the place to be on a Saturday night! We decided to come back Sunday for lunch, to see what the hype was all about. They opened up at 11 and we ordered right away. We got the Bacon Cheddar Burger, “Hondo's donut burger‎ piled high w/ crispy bacon strips & sharp cheddar cheese”. Well…It was not as described (it's not an actual donut either, lol). It had two pieces of bacon with some fancy shredded cheese sprinkled on top. The cheese wasn’t melted… Not a big deal, but I like for the cheese to be melted. The burger was just ok. I have had better on the same trip, so it was a let-down. It definitely would not have been worth the wait Saturday night. We also ordered the onion stings. They were very good, just a little greasy (a pool of oil at the bottom of the basket). Maybe we caught them on a bad morning... We loved the atmosphere and we will try this place again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hondo's is a classic! The food is always good and a tremendous value for the money. If you like noisy and energizing, sit inside and enjoy the live band. If you want it a little quieter sit outside on the patio. Have a great time, eat more than you should and knock back a few brews. But come early cuz it fills up fast!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hondo's on Main also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Hondo's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hondo's on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.