We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keidel Inn & Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keidel Inn & Gasthaus
Save
You added Keidel Inn & Gasthaus to your Saves list
403 East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Das Keidel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

First, let me say that we had a great weekend at the Keidel Inn. I feel like I shouldn't even post this review because I don't want this little secret to get out....want to save it all for ourselves! We stayed at the guest house which is behind the main house. It was terrific....we will definitely be back soon I hope. I do want to speak to a prior post regarding the breakfast. We booked this property through Absolute Charm, and it was clearly noted that breakfast was in the form of vouchers to local restaurants. I believe Absolute Charm is the only way to rent this property, so really there should be no surprises in terms of breakfast. One item I do agree on, is that the towels are in need of replenishment, as they were a bit dingy. But, it was perfect in every other way, so I really can't complain. One other item...I did hear that the ownership did change on this a year or two ago. The name used to be Das Keidel Inn, but now it is Keidel Inn & Gasthaus.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    0
    6
    0
See reviews for
23
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutto,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

First the pluses: the location is great, right on Main Street and within walking distance to almost everything. The house is beautiful, decorated nicely and pretty clean (only a dead bug here and there and a layer of dust on some furniture). The minuses: If you rent just the Clara suite you get no kitchen. And this is NOT a B&B, folks. We were given breakfast coupons ($7 value per) to eat at 5 or 6 different restaurants in town. There was a bare mini-fridge, so we drove to Wal-Mart to buy bottled water (unless you want to drink from the bathroom sink), canned soda and snacks, conditioner, bath gel, etc. The bathroom towels should be upgraded to a nicer grade and they should line the linen cabinet as the towels smelled musty (due to the age of the house I'm sure). Note to the owner or management: You should send a stock letter out to guests a week or two before their arrival to let them know what is provided and what they should bring. I had gone on-line to read the reviews and although they were dated, had NO idea that the review of "...delicious breakfast and delightful hosts" was no longer relative.

Room Tip: Be sure to know if you are renting the whole house or just a portion of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedale, TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the second time we have rented Das Keidel Inn and this experience was just as good as the first. We have a large group of family/friends that meets annually in Fredericksburg to do a wine crawl. Because our group is so large, in the past, we have had a difficult time finding restaurants to accommodate our party of 16-20. Das Keidel Inn can accommodate up to fourteen to sleep, but is great for our entire party to cook, eat, congregate, etc.
Everyone spoke of comfortable beds and there was plenty of hot water for everyone each morning.
Between the main house and the cottage there is plenty of refrigeration space, the cooktop works well and there are adequate cooking accessories and utensils. A quick spaghetti dinner is perfect after a thorough wine tasting day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a girls weekend here. Now I guess I didn't understand how this beautiful house was going to be divied up, but let me explain. We as a groupd of 5 ladies had the main living and dining room, the 3 upstairs bedrooms and our entrance was in the front. There is a back part that someone else rented. Problems were the following: didn't know that it was arranged like this, as a group we had to stay quiet as to mot bother the other people that were only blocked from us by a french door that wasn't sealed at the bottom. Other than that we were in the middle of all the shopping and eating! We walked everywhere, it comes with food tokens and numerous places you can use them in. Lots of fun!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This was our first visit to Fredericksburg and we wanted the full B&B experience and the Das Keidel did not dissapoint! The accomodation were nice and the breakfast and conversation with the hosts were delightful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Das Keidel Inn was perfect for our 10th annual "Chulas" get together. All 10 of us stayed in the main house which was beautifully decorated and in walking distance to the shopping district. Gloria and Fred Soto are wonderful hosts and their delicious breakfasts were a real treat!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Ten women got together for shopping and reminescing; what a wonderful time we all had! Our hosts,Gloria and Fred, made it a successful experience and we talked about coming back to stay at Das Keidel again

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keidel Inn & Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keidel Inn & Gasthaus

Address: 403 East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Das Keidel Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History meets luxury...and location...at the Keidel Inn and Gasthaus. This premium property is located on Main Street only steps from the main shopping district. Take a stroll to the Nimitz Museum just across the way or enjoy an evening walk to the best restaurants Fredericksburg has to offer. The main building in front on Main Street is the Keidel Inn, offering two luxury suites, the Clara Suite and the Emily Suite. Just behind the Inn is the Keidel Gasthaus. Enjoy morning coffee on the fabulous garden patio by the fish pond. Or take a stroll in the evening to any of Fredericksburg's fabulous Main Street restaurants. If you're looking for space, luxury and location, Keidel Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Keidel Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.