We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site

Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site
Fredericksburg, TX
830-997-4379
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This museum, dedicated to the Pacific Theater in WWII, is located here because Chester Nimitz, CINCPAC during that war, was born here. Originally just the Mimitz Museum and located in the building which his grandfather operated as an elegant hotel during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, it has expanded to a multi-site, multi-acre facilty with interactive displays and exhibits, as well as live re0enactments of WWII-style combat. You can get a taste of it in about 4 hours, but the full experience will take the better part of two days. No person interested in WWII should fail to visit, and kids from 7-8 up wil be entertained.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    32
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site-Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of the best museum and exhibits. The Pacific War museum is very informative and the exhibits are excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Part of the Pacific War Museum Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited this museum as part of the Pacific War museum...it is small, but interesting and goes along with many of the exhibits in the main museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HUGE Exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

To take advantage of the museum and exhibits, be prepared to stay all day and bring comfortable shoes! You are allowed to come and go, but it is most definitely an all day affair. Had we known that, we would have scheduled more time for it! We were only able to make it half way through. It was amazing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
196 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
829 helpful votes 829 helpful votes
“Big Dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had friends visiting from out of state and took the drive up to Fredericksburg so that they could visit the Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site. Upon entering the building the young lady at the front desk was so rude and condescending that our guest said that they did not care to be treated in that manner and would rather not visit the site. Sad that we had to experience this sort of behavior.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.