We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Winery in Hill Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilmy Cellars

Hilmy Cellars
12346 East US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830 644 2482
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Winery in Hill Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been all over the hill country wineries. Hilmy Cellars is the most contemporary, personal experience so far. Especially if you are a bit younger (I just turned 30), you'll like Hilmy Cellars. I highly recommend it. First of all the building is sort of a rustic/contemporary style. Our tasting experience was very personal as one of the owners served our tasting. One of the more enjoyable tasting experiences. Everyone in our group loved the wines. We ended up buying a few bottles, and if I hadn't bought any at the other wineries, I would have bought more. The one interesting thing about Hilmy cellars was that their tasting menu and bottle labels were very artistic. It looked like someone had spend some time designing some thoughtful and contemporary graphics for it. There is a bunch of picnic tables on a covered patio out back, and you can bring your lunch. I'll definitely be back for more!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Love this winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We took guests on a winery tour along hwy 290, Texas wine country, and this winery was by far our favorite. Our host for the tastings free-poured the wine so we felt like we were getting a good pour for our money. So many of the wineries give you barely enough to taste, though you pay a significant amount for the tastings. She was knowledgeable and interesting. We bought some wine and sat on the back porch and drank it on a breezy afternoon. We were so impressed that we joined their wine club and bought more wine to take home. Our favorite wine is called " Politics and Religion." Try it, it is amazing. I love this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming Place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent an afternoon at Hilmy in the company of many to help them bottle their new rose wine. This new wine is light and will be sure to be a popular choice for the decks of Austin this summer. A wonderful place where Winemaker Erik an his wife Neldie are very serious about their wines. The tasting room is large and very inviting. The back patio was a great place to sit and sip their offerings. I am excited about the beautiful outdoor brick oven to be used down the road a bit for wood fired pizzas! I loved the caring nature of Erik and Neldie and the great pride by ALL of the Hilmy employees who made my afternoon a great learning experience!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went into this tasting room right as they were closing and the staff was friendly and willing to stay open for us. We tasted four wines (two reds and two whites) and really enjoyed all of them. The staff conducting the tasting was very informative and offered a lot of information about the tasting and notes of the wine. He also was very funny! We purchasing 3 bottles of wine and look foward to returning in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“This winery should be at the top of your list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the problems you have when you plan a trip to the wineries in the Texas Hill Country is deciding which ones to visit. You can't see them all. Along with the two or three "big name" wineries in the area, this small, new winery should be on your itinerary.

First, the wines are great. This is surprising only because this is a start-up business, open for tastings for less than a year. Their product, however, is on par with any of the larger, better established operations in the area. Their young owner/vintner has learned his craft well.

Second, the people who run this are absolutely great. From the young couple who own the business, to the even younger tasting room staff, all of these people are knowledgeable, but more important, genuinely friendly and fun to spend time with. We visited during a very busy special event last weekend, but there was no sense of being hurried or harried, and the staff were all quite willing to spend time in pleasant conversation.

This is important. Wine tasting is about relaxation and good times. A lot of other wineries in the area don't handle this part of the business very well, but these folks are superb at it. I hope it never changes as their business inevitably grows.

Finding Hilmy Cellars is easy. It's right by U.S. 290 in the Fredricksburg/Stonewall area. When they say you can't miss it, I think people are describing places like this. Parking is plentiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilmy Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Hilmy Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilmy Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.