We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We (2 adults and two 12 year old boys) stayed here for 1 night while visiting the War of the Pacific Museum. The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and smelled brand new. We had a 2 queen with balcony room. The bathroom was huge! The only negative I have to say about the room is that the balcony looked out over the parking lot....not a very nice view, but we weren't there to sit in the room anyway.

The pool and courtyard was beautiful. The pictures online dont do it justice. The pool has 2 slides (much bigger than you can tell from photos), 2 cross over bridges with several little waterfalls, and a lazy river that winds around the courtyard. Late in the evening, the pool lights start changing color and the fire pits are lit....makes for a very relaxing area. The pool closed at 10, but the courtyard is open til midnight. After the pools closed, the boys showered and we all went down to the courtyard and played board games until shortly after midnight. We had the entire courtyard to ourselves.

The next morning, the hotel provided a wonderful breakfast, which does save some money. The hotel is a bit pricey, but all hotels in this area are. The boys would have liked another day in the pool, but the budget just didn't allow for it.

Room Tip: We had room 211. Quiet room at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
67
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

These are the most comfortable beds we have ever experienced at a hotel plus they provided soft AND firm pillows as a standard feature. The room is spacious and the bathroom shower accommodates tall people meaning that the shower head will really rinse your hair without stooping down. The facility is nice, clean, and in a good location for the activities on Main Street. We will stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Perfect for a girls weekend! Rooms were clean and fit all 5 of us!I wish we could have spent more time there! We chose the hotel because the pool looked perfect with the lazy river, however we didn't get to use it and would love to go back for a longer stay! Friendly and curteous staff! The breakfast was great! I would definitley recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us. Come stay with us again in Fredericksburg, Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fredericksburg, TX 7/23 to 7/26, 2013

We wanted a place that we could drive to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. I searched on-line and found the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Fredericksburg, TX. The photos of the pool were amazing and it was only a 4 hour drive, so we decided to stay there.

We got a late start so arrived around 6pm. I had booked a king room on Holiday Inn’s web-site as all the online booking sites showed the hotel as “unavailable”. Be aware, that their site does not give a good description of the room categories or room locations. When we checked in they gave us a 1st floor room that has a picture window with a view of the pool. Room 120. I asked if we could get a room with a balcony over looking the pool instead and they stated we could for the price difference of the two room categories. In other words, no free upgrades. We decided to stick with the original room. We went to room 120. It was nicely updated with a king bed, small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink. The room had a large picture window with a view of the pool. I have to say the design of the bottom floor pool rooms are a major flaw. Instead of a picture window, they really should have installed a door that opens directly to the pool and a patio. After looking at this room, we decided we really wanted the outside space of a balcony room and returned to the front desk. We paid the $200 difference to get a balcony room. In hindsight this was a HUGE mistake. They gave us room 228 on the second floor. The balcony to this room is directly next to all the mechanical equipment that operates the pool, which is very LOUD. So loud that the balcony was completely unusable. No way could anyone sit on that balcony and relax or hold a conversation. I returned to the front desk to request another room, but was advised there was nothing else available. I asked if the mechanics to the pool stayed on all the time and was told they were turned off at 11:30pm and turned back on at 6:00am. I was quite miffed we paid an extra $200 for an amenity we were not going to get to use and the front desk staff could care less. We were staying a Tuesday through Friday and during our time there, we saw a handful of people, so I doubt very seriously that the hotel didn’t have another room available. Since DH was very tired after the long drive, we decided to chalk it up to experience and I sent a complaint letter to the main office. Room 120 and Room 228 were exactly the same in configuration except the picture window and the balcony.

Since the hotel was newly refurbished, the overwhelming smell of paint and new carpeting was very strong, which we never got used to. On Thursday, we lost the Wi-Fi connection and it didn’t come back on before we checked out Friday. Also, the Direct TV went out Friday morning and we were told that Time Warner Cable was in the process of fixing it. It did not come back on before we had to check out.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast in the lobby. All the typical breakfast items as well as biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon and ham. It was decent for complimentary, but I wouldn’t make a huge effort to eat there every morning.

The best feature of the hotel is definitely the pool. We spent Thursday afternoon at the pool. We actually had the entire pool to ourselves for about 2 hours. At 3:00pm, then other guests started showing up. If this pool had a swim up bar, it would be very comparable to resorts we have been to in Mexico and the Caribbean. Really, the pool is the only reason to stay there. I definitely would avoid staying on a Friday or Saturday since I’m sure that’s when they get most of their customers and the pool will probably be too crowded to enjoy. I would probably stay here again, but only for the use of the pool. I would first look around for anything comparable before booking here again.

I posted a full trip report with restaurants and activities in the forums.

I have our pictures posted at: https://kvrlvnphotogallery.shutterfly.com/pictures/7907

Click “all” just to scroll down through all of the pictures.

Room Tip: The bottom floor pool rooms only have a window. No pool access. Avoid Room 228 or any of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearland, texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked 3 nights online, 1 night was free due to using Holiday Inn points. We were informed after we got there that we would have to change rooms after 2 nights. We would have to check out, check back in and move to a room that was not "upgraded". Our room did not seem like anything special. Had a king bed and a pull-out couch and a view of the parking lot! We decided instead of going through all that hassle, we would just stay the two nights and use points elsewhere later. It would have required us to find somewhere to store our luggage until we could check in at 3pm! There was a gentlemen at the front desk who was extremely rude while we were discussing this. A woman ended up taking over from him and was much nicer about the issue, but we would still have had to move rooms. The next day we informed the rude man that the ice machine was broken on the 2nd floor. His response was "Well, that's great!" We stood there a few minutes and he eventually said he would tell maintenance. No apology, just sarcasm. Clean room, nice pool, but we saw the same pool at the Hampton Inn would is right on Main Street. Also, our points were not credited back to our account. We are now dealing with Holiday Inn reservations on this. I was just informed this hotel is not longer affiliated with Holiday Inn! Very confused!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear sherrybpab,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, TX. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great staff, very helpful bringing me feather free pillows, lovely pool, clean and up to date room and halls, appreciate the extra plugs on nightstand lamp for cell phones, loved the reding lamps above the beds, nice variety of breakfast foods. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When I realized a week earlier we were bringing my six month old grand daughter I called and asked if they had cribs and when we checked into our suite one was already in the room. The breakfast was terrrific every morning and the pool, ahhhh the pool. It is exactly what they said on the information, but better. It was enormous and so awesome for my grandkids. THe slides were alof of fun, the lazy river and even the hot tub was huge. Large fire pits at night keep you warm when you arent in the pool. The room was big and spacious and so clean. I really loved this hotel.

Room Tip: THe suites are on the bottom floor with easy access to the pool and outside parking. But the upper r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Address: 500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.