We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool - wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The pool - wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

First of all Fredericksburg is such an awesome town! The pool was amazing (we didn't swim in it though)! It was huge with a waterfall and fire pits in the pool area. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Off the Main Street so it was also very quiet. Breakfast was nothing special. But it was included. I would definitely stay again and bring the kids to swim in the pool. Or maybe not so we can do some of the many wineries!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
56
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dropped into Fredericksburg on a whim. This hotel is newly opened and a great addition to the town. Our room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the fantastic pool. They have waterfalls, slides, a hot tub(we are NOT hot tub people). The breakfast had many satisfying choices to take the edge off before you head into town to a German bakery.
Great room, great stay. We weren't in the room too much but I seemed to be able to hear some of the other guests talking in other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We happened to be driving through Fredericksburg on a cross country trip and needed a hotel to stay at for the night. We found this Holiday Inn Express & Suites and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. It was obvious from the moment you drove up to it that it was brand new. The front desk staff seemed friendly enough. The room was immaculate. Everything was new and clean. The room was a very good size and the bed comfortable.

The best thing about this hotel was the pool. It was unbelievably large, with two water slides, numerous waterfalls, a sort of lazy river (without the current), and a wading area with beach chairs. The hot tub was very large. Both the hot tub and the pool were beautifully lit. We also had it completely to ourselves.

We only stayed one night, and only for a good night's sleep, which we got because we spent so much energy swimming and playing in the pool. It seemed close to the center of town--near restaurants and stores, but we didn't explore much. It was just a wonderful surprise to find a hotel so nice and affordable in essentially, a rural area of Texas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is brand new and is mostly an excellent place. Everything is clean, new, smells good, rooms are large. They have a pool, which we did not use, unlike anything I have seen at a hotel of this level. It's huge, has a large island, a waterfall, a little slide for kids, and lots of nice chaise lounges. I don't know what possessed them to build it. The breakfast area is large, and the food is better prepared than at most HIE's that we have visited. All Holiday Inns have the same menu, but often we have found their signature cinnamon rolls to be dried out and tasteless. Bacon was excellent, sausage and gravy was excellent. Some of that good Fredericksburg cooking.

The downsides are:
1. the internet was not working. The wireless signal was fine, but there was little throughput. A page would take minutes to come up. When I told the desk clerk that it wasn't working, he first said, "Yes, it is." When I presented him with my laptop, he at least acknowledged but had no solution.
2. In an unusual move for Holiday Inn Exp, they offer a premium room with a "hill country" view. I tried it, but don't. You're looking through power lines and across a road and buildings and can see a hill in the distance. They should actually be ashamed of merchandising it.

All in all, assuming they will fix the internet, really an excellent Holiday Inn. You could walk to Main St. if you're a hiker, but only a very short drive.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the view. All the rooms have nice balconies, but if you aspire to use it, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I try to stay at a Holiday Inn everytime we travel, and by far - this was the nicest and friendlist one yet. Vicki at the Front Desk was very helpful with suggesting shops and wineries near by. Extremely clean, great breakfast, awesome pool area, and just a couple of blocks off of Main Street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is new, so of course, I could go on and on about how nice it was to stay here. I will say for a family this hotel is AWESOME! From the large room with room for 5-6 (with the sleeper sofa) which included a microwave and refrigerator, it was comfortable for our family of five.

The breakfast was standard HIE fare, so not impressive, but a wide variety of choices - warm/cold, eggs, bacon/sausage, gravy & biscuits, cereal, yogurt, four juices, milk, 2 coffees.

The pool, well, the pool was/is AMAZING! A small lazy river with built in currents, small and big waterfalls, 2 slides and 2 beachlike entrances with gentle slopes into the water - perfect for the little ones. Hot tub was huge, too.

Only concern - mosquitoes were pretty bad at night around pool. It would be nice if they used a misting system or something.

Otherwise, perfect! I would stay here with just my wife over the B&B experiences we have had in Fredericksburg. I would stay here again with my family w/o question. And if I ever had a large family get-together/reunion - this is the place I would choose!

Room Tip: We were on the outside of the hallway, meaning not overlooking the pool. It was quiet and I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Drove by this HI while staying at a bed and breakfast a few months ago. Was drawn in by the pool. Awesome hotel. Everything is immaculate. Front desk was very efficient. Pool has a lazy river and 2 separate slides with a waterfall. Great hot tub (large enough to fit at least 20 people without being overcrowded). Hub and I went down one night after dinner with our wine and plopped our butts in the hot tub! Met new folks but it wasn't uncomfortable. Of course being from Texas we talk to everyone who'll listen! Ended up staying in the hot tub, then jumped in the pool and slid down the slide. Yep, I'm 49, went down the slide like I was a teenager! Great fun! Can't wait to go back! Only downfall was breakfast. If you're looking for a tasty one, go somewhere and buy it. Definitely can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I don't think any of them are real quiet. We stayed on the back side, but everyone lets their d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Address: 500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.