We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildflowers Galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow City Loop

Willow City Loop
Fredericksburg, TX
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wildflowers Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took the Willow City Loop in early May and were overwhelmed by the beautiful wild flowers. The bluebonnets had just come and gone but the other flowers were just peaking and absolutely beautiful. Take your time and enjoy the scenery!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    11
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We drove the loop in early April and were very disappointed. Perhaps too early for many wildflowers or not a great season, we only saw a few. Otherwise it seemed to be one slightly dumpy ranch after another. Plenty of cattle sleeping. Highlight for us was a fence decorated with numerous cowboys boots.

Took about 45 minutes to drive the whole thing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive with much variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

At first it seemed ordinary, but it gradually unfolds into vista after vista. . .Quite a variety of things to see, rocky creeks, Castle-like rock hills, ranches, sweeping valleys, wildflowers. In mid-May, the bluebonnets were done, but judging from the number of seeded out bluebonnet plants we saw, they must be amazing in March and April. We saw lots of Indian blanket and yellow coreopsis on our drive. . still very lovely!
It's a very twisty turny road .. so you'll have to go slowly if someone in the car is very prone to carsickness. .. I am slightly prone, but I was driving, heheh. Hubby seemed ok.
Would make a marvelous drive in spring, I'm sure!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Treasure of Hill Country Beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This little known drive is such a treasure that we are reluctant to share the information for fear of future congestion! But, at least once, you need to take this 45 minute winding drive and check out the vistas and abundant wildflowers. Gorgeous! Do NOT get out and take photos, however, as the surrounding property is private property and they have little tolerance for trespassing. Signs make the turnoff from Hwy 16, north of Fredericksburg.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This year the wildflowers were a little sparse but it is still a gorgeous drive! Took my family hoping to see bluebonnets but they were few and far between this year. It is still a drive I will do every spring with or without flowers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow City Loop also viewed

 

Been to Willow City Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow City Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.