We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to shop, but . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street

Main Street
Fredericksburg, TX
Improve this listing
Activities: Shopping, Dining
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hate to shop, but . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife should write this review, not me, but . . . .

We could have spent the whole day shopping, if it weren't for my insistence to go to the wineries. I thought the shops were interesting, varied, and I thought for the most part the prices were good. I generally go shopping to make my wife happy. However, I found some pretty cool stuff which I did purchase.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    185
    37
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Little bit of everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

From jewelry to antiques the Main Steet offers it all. Really good Restraunts. BUT do your shopping and eating early, many of shops close by 6p.m.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“shop shop shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

There is NO shortage of shopping holes on Main but don't let those stores on side streets escape you ....they are full of fun and good things.
Vera Bradley items, pottery, art galleries and don't miss PIE at Fredericksburg Pies.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Love all the shops, restaurants, bars, breweries, galleries, etc. that you can pop in and out of. Highly recommend the Fredericksburg Brewing Company for great beer and food, the Auslander for the same (try their German potato skins, they are to die for!), the Christmas Store (open year round) is magical, Rustlin Rob's where you can sample all the syrups, jams, mustards, oils, BBQ sauces, hot sauces, etc., The Lone Star Candy Bar for great fudge, Dooley's 5, 10 and 25 cent store is fun to wander through and has some housewares that you don't see much anymore, but it is definitely more expensive that 25 cents!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, crowded, but kinda cool for short visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Parking, difficult. Bathrooms, they do have public in one place. Stores pricy, but can find some unique items, get out a little and prices are more reasonable at a few places we found. Good you can walk on the street with a beer or cup of wine, and place for wine tasting. One thing I did not like or expect here, which is in most places now, one store in particular that specializes in Texas and western wear, but I will not name, is how many items are made in China. You would think that a Texas store full of leather goods would at least have some leather belts, etc that were made in Texas, or at least USA. I was very disappointed when I could not find and just walked out. .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.