We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chuckwagon Inn - Hill Country weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Chuckwagon Inn - Hill Country weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn while visiting the Hill Country last weekend was wonderful. The entire weekend was great, and staying at the Chuckwagon Inn was a real treat. Becky and Sam know the meaning of the word "hospitality", and the cabin we stayed in was not only very comfortable (the best sleep I've had in a long time), but was also decorated in a genuine Texas way. The full breakfast was worth the trip - I'll be heading back for some of Sam's biscuits, sausage, and gravy in the near future. Many years ago when I travelled quite a bit overseas, I frequently stayed at the Savoy Hotel in London - known as the best hotel in the world. I'm happy to say that the Chuckwagon Inn under Becky and Sam's ownership can easily be called the "Savoy of Hill Country B&B's". Andy Hewes, Houston, Texas

Room Tip: Any room/cabin would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
253
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As all the reviews say, you will not be dissappointed with your stay here. My husband and I stayed in the "Pear Tree" room. The room was comfortable with a nice bed, sitting area, fireplace, and huge whirlpool shower/tub. It is wonderful to stay at this bed and breakfast because not only do you have rooms with character, but you have privacy (I dislike staying under the same roof as someone as other accomidations have). Sam gave us a dinner recommendation for a steakhouse that was fabulous (trust the man)! Breakfast was really good. You will not want to miss it. The owners Sam and Becky were so sweet and made us feel as their personal welcomed guest. Go here, relax, and enjoy fredricksburg...we sure did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I could not have had a better experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay in Miss Becky's Kitchen. The accommodations were nicely appointed, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts each morning were hearty and exceptionally well done in the Texas Hill Country tradition. Sam and Becky are delightful and very attentive to the needs of each guest. The stories and the conversation were most entertaining and an unexpected bonus. This is the kind of place that you'll want to come back to time and time again. I know we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Sam and Becky go above and beyond to make your stay a great one. From recommendations on where to eat/go to the great breakfast each morning. Of course, it wouldn't be the same without their stories around the breakfast table. You truly get to know the owners and the history of the place. We have stayed here once before and this time invited 2 other couples. We had a great time and hope to make it a regular trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed in the Bollinger cabin , very nicely done ,comfortable , clean , and a unique historical find. Sam and Becky are friendly and hospitable with a down home Texas Style. Breakfast can't be beat ( good old home cooking) , we would recommend The Chuckwagon Inn to anyone who wants country charm ,good food and great company to go and visit Sam and Becky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Becky & Sam's Chuck Wagon Inn in February 2013 for 3 nights. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Sam & Becky are a pleasure to be around. The location is far enough out of Fredericksburg to be quiet and relaxing, but close enough that you're downtown in a few minutes. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The property is just outside of town, not far at all but far enough to have the country feel and quiet. It is right across the street from the local general purpose aviation airport but there was no air traffic to speak of. The room was very nicely done, spotless and comfortable. The property was very well maintained and very nice.

We were greeted by Sam when we arrived (near 8:00pm). He gave us brief directions and such, checked if we needed anything and told us about breakfast in the morning. Nicely done, a quick bit of information then let us go on our way to enjoy.

Breakfast was family style with all the other guests in the big house. It was very good both mornings. The biscuits were spectacular. Conversation between the guests was tentative at first but Sam has a big personality and kept things moving along with stories and commentary until everyone got a little more comfortable (and the coffee kicked in). Becky was wonderful, serving as the other side of the Sam comedy team. We would definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.